Hammy Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
Okay, I would place my rating for this recipe at 4 and a half stars. The taste of this meal is absolutely incredible, and I'm fourteen and I found the recipe fairly easy to make (the part where they nail you is prepping up the stuff to cook). Now, I took off half of a star because the taste is one that grows on you. After too much, you'll want to push the plate away, good as it is. I also used Black Forest Ham, which added a nice, fancy touch to it. Also used more onions because I'm an onion addict. All in all, tasted great, but don't put too large a portion on people's plate and tell them not to do the same. Instead, save uneaten portions for leftovers and eat it slowly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
Any recipe that my picky kids will eat deserves 5 stars, although I did sub onion powder for the onions so that they would eat it ;). I made this for breakfast, added white pepper, wrapped them in a warmed tortilla...YUMMY!! Thanks Lola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This is a good base recipe for using up leftover ham. I've made it now several times after coming home from a 12 hour work day. It's fast and good. I usually have quite a bit more ham so I add what I have. Sometimes I put in a cup or so of frozen corn or peas. I never use the sour cream...other wise I follow the basic recipe pretty much. There are never any leftovers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2004
We loved the slight crispiness of the ham and potatoes and the soft sweetness of the onion (I used a vidalia). We didn't feel this needed sour cream. Although we had this for dinner, my husband thought it would be a nice side for eggs... or even the filling to an omelette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
Sorry Lola, but this dish is average at best. I followed the recipe using ham from a leftover roast and was very disappointed with the results. Next time I will put my leftover ham to better use. Although this recipe received several good reviews, it's not one I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2000
This worked very well for 2. It is an easy recipe to make in steps. I try to get as much of my dinner prep done in the early afternoon so I can spend time with my daughter when she gets home from school. At dinner time I finished cooking in no time. I think that it would be just as quick to cook all at once. The dinner got raves from my love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Delicious and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODIBRONSONNIMS
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
So good and so simple. Did not add the sour cream. Great with leftover Honey Baked ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
Not bad at all. Easy enough to prepare, and makes a nice change from plain hashbrowns with breakfast. I added a little bit of grated cheddar cheese and let that melt a bit before adding the sour cream. My kids liked it. What's not to like about ham and potatoes? Thanks Lola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2000
This recipe was quick, easy & my family enjoyed it very much...especially my picky 10-year-old son, who said it was the best meal I've made since Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States