Hammy Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight. But I subbed Johnsonville Mild Italian Sausage. It came out very delicious. Served with eggs and toast. The sausage was a nice substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Substitute Spam for the ham, fry the Spam first and with the grease that renders out, fry the onions and potatoes. Crack your eggs into the mix, scramble, and when done, step away from the pan...and the stampede to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter J Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
You have to work to get a good crisp out of the potatoes, but it's worth it. Added a clove of garlic & some paprika, a strip of bacon left over from breakfast & used the bacon grease. Sour cream & franks. Done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I had some leftover boiled potatoes that needed to be used. Chopped them, used diced baked ham and a sweet onion. We did not use the sour cream. This was a very easy weekday dinner, served with fresh fruit on the side. The leftovers were used the next day as a filling for omelets. Thank you for posting, Lola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This is the best use for leftover ham that I've seen! My wife didn't even want any to begin with, but then had two servings. I used Russet potatoes to keep the price down, but can't wait to try it with Yukon Gold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Delicious and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODIBRONSONNIMS
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I added fresh sliced mushrooms in with the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
So good and so simple. Did not add the sour cream. Great with leftover Honey Baked ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This is a good base recipe for using up leftover ham. I've made it now several times after coming home from a 12 hour work day. It's fast and good. I usually have quite a bit more ham so I add what I have. Sometimes I put in a cup or so of frozen corn or peas. I never use the sour cream...other wise I follow the basic recipe pretty much. There are never any leftovers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
Not bad at all. Easy enough to prepare, and makes a nice change from plain hashbrowns with breakfast. I added a little bit of grated cheddar cheese and let that melt a bit before adding the sour cream. My kids liked it. What's not to like about ham and potatoes? Thanks Lola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States