Hamburger Tomato Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Simple, easy and good. I added mushrooms, onion and garlic. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
needed seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Pate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
Our rendition of this simple recipe turned out great --d made terrific leftovers for lunch. But we really had to add quite a dose of spices to make it taste right. We added: cumin, onions, garlic, ceyenne pepper, black pepper and garlic salt. It's a good basic recipe to start from, but it would be way too bland without spicing it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
WOW! So simple but so good. I used fresh diced tomatoes, a little onion, I added the cornbread that someone suggested, baked, put cheese on top. My family loved it! Good basic recipe that can be changed to use items on hand and/or taste! Be creative. Thanks for the keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
This was really easy and really good over rice!! I did add some extra spices like garlic salt and mushrooms as well as seasoned salt and chopped onions or onion salt would be ok...My husband and kids liked this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
This is an okay recipe. I had to add a lot to it to make it not taste bland. I used petite diced tomatoes and a little water for juice. I followed other suggestions and added a little garlic powder, chili powder, seasoned salt, red pepper flakes and parmesan cheese. I also added a few drops of worcestershire sauce and I melted a beef bullion in a little hot water and added about a tablespoon of that. I put chopped onion and canned mushrooms in also and about a third teaspoon of sugar. I served it with elbow macaroni. My husband liked it but it was a lot of testing and tasting to make it edible. I'll keep the recipe because he liked it but for myself I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
This recipe was very good and easy to make. I added some chili powder, cumin, garlic and onion powder. Without it would have been bland. Great topped with cheddar cheese. Would definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
I too added about a tablespoon of chili powder. But try this one...instead of over rice or pasta, add the mix to a casserole dish and then top it with a cornbread mix prepared as directed. You'll have to bake it a few minutes longer that's cool too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
This was a very easy quick dish. Easy to experiment with different spices and vegetables. Even tastes good topped with cheddar or parmesan cheese. Will absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2000
I added chili powder and red pepper flakes to this recipe as I found it too bland without any spices, but then of course we like alot of heat. I would likely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States