Hamburger Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Was not tasty at all. The ingredients did not work together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acdcbama
Living In: Lexington, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Great recipe for 2014 the endless winter here in the northeast. Nice alternative to chilli. I doubled the recipe and added beefstock instead of water and 1/2 peas and 1/2 pork and beans. Added all ingredients except added about half the taco seasoning. Yummy stew for ANOTHER cold winter day. Everybody gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Everyone loved it. No adjustments needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I left out pork and beans and celery and added corn. This stew does not look nice in the pot, but does have a good flavor. My husband and 19 year old son loved it along with my 4 year old....however I could not get my 14 year old to try it due to the look. I ate one bowl and it was fine, but I'm super picky. If you have those ingredients in your house, this is definitely worth making, but I wouldn't buy them on purpose to make it. But thanks for the recipe.....it worked:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Sweebe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I have been a member of this site for 3 years and never rated a dish yet. Making this recipe my first! I used half a jar of spaghetti sauce I had sitting in the fridge instead of tomato soup. I used baked beans instead of pork n beans. I was so skeptical of the odd combination of ingredients but it turned out great with homemade bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Absolutely delicious. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I actually tried this recipe, but instead of adding potato pieces to the stew, I actually made mashed potatoes and served the soup over them. Cheese also goes great on top!! This is definitely a new family favorite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Quick and easy dinner. I added a small handful of penne pasta, replaced the can of tomato soup with diced tomatoes, and added black beans instead of the pork and beans--wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I have added/omitted a couple of items. Instead of pork and beans I substitute a couple of cans of black beans. I also use a can or two Italian style diced tomatoes instead of tomato soup. I also add some frozen corn, fresh mushrooms,diced red pepper and also a healthy dose of fresh minced garlic. We are a hunting family so we use elk and/or venison burger. I brown the meat, toss it all in a pressure cooker (during winter months)and 12-13 minutes later I am fighting off the kids. In the summer this is a real hit in a dutch oven over a campfire. This is one of those dishes that tricks people into thinking the old man can cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Very good and very easy to make. I too made some substitutions based on our personal tastes and what I had on hand. I used pinto beans(what I had in the pantry) and added a sprinkling of red pepper flakes. I also substituted 2 C beef broth for part of the water. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States