Hamburger Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Was not tasty at all. The ingredients did not work together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Great recipe for 2014 the endless winter here in the northeast. Nice alternative to chilli. I doubled the recipe and added beefstock instead of water and 1/2 peas and 1/2 pork and beans. Added all ingredients except added about half the taco seasoning. Yummy stew for ANOTHER cold winter day. Everybody gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Everyone loved it. No adjustments needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I left out pork and beans and celery and added corn. This stew does not look nice in the pot, but does have a good flavor. My husband and 19 year old son loved it along with my 4 year old....however I could not get my 14 year old to try it due to the look. I ate one bowl and it was fine, but I'm super picky. If you have those ingredients in your house, this is definitely worth making, but I wouldn't buy them on purpose to make it. But thanks for the recipe.....it worked:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Sweebe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I have been a member of this site for 3 years and never rated a dish yet. Making this recipe my first! I used half a jar of spaghetti sauce I had sitting in the fridge instead of tomato soup. I used baked beans instead of pork n beans. I was so skeptical of the odd combination of ingredients but it turned out great with homemade bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Absolutely delicious. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I actually tried this recipe, but instead of adding potato pieces to the stew, I actually made mashed potatoes and served the soup over them. Cheese also goes great on top!! This is definitely a new family favorite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Quick and easy dinner. I added a small handful of penne pasta, replaced the can of tomato soup with diced tomatoes, and added black beans instead of the pork and beans--wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I have added/omitted a couple of items. Instead of pork and beans I substitute a couple of cans of black beans. I also use a can or two Italian style diced tomatoes instead of tomato soup. I also add some frozen corn, fresh mushrooms,diced red pepper and also a healthy dose of fresh minced garlic. We are a hunting family so we use elk and/or venison burger. I brown the meat, toss it all in a pressure cooker (during winter months)and 12-13 minutes later I am fighting off the kids. In the summer this is a real hit in a dutch oven over a campfire. This is one of those dishes that tricks people into thinking the old man can cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Very good and very easy to make. I too made some substitutions based on our personal tastes and what I had on hand. I used pinto beans(what I had in the pantry) and added a sprinkling of red pepper flakes. I also substituted 2 C beef broth for part of the water. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States