Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Very good burger! I would like to mention that I am very surprised at some of the reviews, since that change so many ingredients. Raven left out five items and still gave it five stars. How can she do this since basically she is not reviewing or rating this recipe. My thoughts are if you are going to rate a recipe, rate the recipe and not your way of adapting it. Just a thought though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2422 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
These were really good. I made six small patties out of this. I didn't use sherry, but thought that the taste was stil excellent. I did dip each of my patties in flour on both sides before putting them into the frying pan. Finally, after I added my flour and beef broth to the onions, I added 1.5 cups of milk and let it come to a boil. Then I mixed 2T of flour with 1/2 cup of milk and slowly poured it into the broth mix. Once it was thickened, I returned the "steaks" to the gravy mixture. They tasted wonderful like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
634 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
I'm always so nervous trying dishes without reviews! But I just thought this sounded good. And it IS good, so that was a relief. I didn't have sherry, but I looked up a substitution chart and it said I could use orange juice or pineapple juice. But I didn't have those either! So I looked up aNOTHER chart and it told me I could use vanilla extract! So I did (one tsp for the one tbsp sherry). And the gravy just smelled so good. And thickened up wonderfully. All in all, a great, easy dish. Just serve over rice! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
528 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
After we travel, Hubs and I crave an old-fashioned, comfort food dinner. I was on a plane at 37,000 ft. when I came across this recipe and couldn’t wait to get home to make it. I agree with Lisa completely, that this is reminiscent of an old-fashioned TV dinner, those with the aluminum trays, designed before the advent of microwave ovens. When I was a young girl, I remember a rare treat was to accompany Mom to the grocery store and choose a TV dinner. My favorite was Salisbury steak with mashed potatoes and corn (the deluxe version included a really awful brownie). This is what we craved, and this is what I attempted to recreate tonight with this recipe. In other words, I had no illusions that it would taste like anything else, and I was not disappointed. In keeping with that memory, I used cornstarch rather than flour for the gravy, as I remember those TV dinners having a translucent gravy. I cooked the heck out of the onions, until they were nearly caramelized - sweet, soft and so good. I cooked them separately, removed them from the pan, then fried up the hamburger patties. I tried making 8 of them as the recipe directed, but that was just too skimpy for me, so I made 6. I seasoned them following the recipe exactly – I wanted these simple, the kind of meal I recall growing up – nothing fancy, just delicious and satisfying. Since I served this with mashed potatoes (and corn of course!) I doubled the gravy (with no salt) and was pleased I did. We cleaned our plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
355 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
We loved this recipe, thanks! I used French Onion soup instead of the beef broth, and would highly recommend using ground Angus for the beef. The flavor is wonderful, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
272 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
Good recipe, but using fresh herbs and spices really helps...fresh grated garlic, minced onions or grated onion, fresh cracked pepper etc. really makes a big difference...a little chopped parsley also adds something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
We just loved this! I did double the gravy and used a can of onion soup, mmmm mmmm good! I used rice but next time I make this I will make it with mashed potatoes, this is the best gravy! hum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
These were great! I decided to follow another user's directions and add a splash of red wine vinegar (in place of the sherry that I didn't have) and it pretty much ruined the gravy beyond belief. Don't use vinegar! I luckily had an instant brown gravy mix that I whipped up last minute. Thank God you have to remove the meat or else it would have been ruined too! The way I saved it was great and I ate it on top of white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This doesn't apply to this recipe specifically, but I am sick and tired of reading bad reviews from people who haven't even tried the recipe. Every cook tweaks a recipe a bit, but to give it a bad review? Too much time on their hands. Let's see some of THEIR recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Thanks, Anne, for a wonderful recipe. It is definitely a keeper. As others have suggested, do double the gravy. My husband did the cooking outside in an electric skillet. Couldn't have been better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States