Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I made ours out of ground turkey to save on fat, but our "salisturkey" steaks were pretty good. The gravy didn't work because the meat was so lean (why we use turkey in the first place) but these had a great flavor. Adding to my list to make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snailcarnival

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I loved this recipe! It's not fancy but it tastes so good. I made it almost exactly to the recipe, with two very minor changes. I didn't have any sherry, so I just left it out. Also, my meat was pretty lean so I didn't feel that there was enough fat left in the pan to make the gravy, so I added a tablespoon of butter before adding the flour so that there would be a good roux. If you are using fattier meat you may not need to do this. I wasn't serving potatoes or rice, but if I were, I'd double the gravy amount (pretty easy if you just add some butter). This is the kind of recipe where the leftovers need to be put away right away before I overeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe. The only changes I make is that I double the gravy. It is the ONLY "real" dinner my 5 year old will eat without any complaints. In fact we had to start doubling the recipe itself after a couple of "THERE'S NO MORE MEAT?!?!" meltdowns. So simple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Loved this recipe! I didn't have cooking sherry, so I used white cooking wine and I doubled the gravy and served it with mashed potatoes. It was very good. Definitely making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Great recipe! I used Johnsonville Italian Sausage in the place of hamburger which gave this recipe a nice bangers and mash like flavor. I also used chicken broth instead of beef (due to allergy) and rice flour instead of all purpose to make it gluten free. I skipped the sherry all together like some other reviewers and did not miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
yes very good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Loften

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Super fantastic. My family destroyed every last bite. I served with smashed potatoes and brown sugar & buttered sliced carrots. Got it on the table in an hour. Worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Yum yum yum!! I made a few modifications - no onion salt just b/c I did not have any (but since the patties were fried with fresh onion I felt that was ok), fresh pressed garlic instead of garlic salt, and I added fresh mushrooms to the sauce. SO good!! My husband and I both loved it. Super easy to make and very very tasty, perfect comfort food for a nice fall/winter evening. Served with garlic mashed potatoes. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe to the letter, except that I had beef bouillon cubes and water instead of beef broth and I added water as my sauce turned out a little thick. I served it over mashed potatoes. This turned out amazing!! This was a huge winner for our family. My husband and kids both loved it, as did I. This is a keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
So far, tastes really good. Beef is tender juicy and goes great with gravy. I was expecting the gravy to be a bit thicker... I might try with less broth or more flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States