Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This turned out delicious. I sautéed some sliced mushrooms because I love mushrooms with meat and gravy. My husband loved it and said I could add it to my menu rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birch Run, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Great recipe. I went straight by the hamburger steak recipe and it was perfect. I did a little tweaking with the gravy. I replaced the onions with mushrooms (didn't have onions on hand). The gravy was too thick and didn't have enough flavor so I added an extra 1/2 cup of beef broth, big tbsp. of margarine, extra sherry, salt, pepper. It was delicious! I wish I had doubled up on the gravy as others suggested so I could have extra for my mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
RECIPE IS PERFECT AS IS BUT..... for our preference, I tripled the recipe for my big eatin family, quadrupled the gravy as we love. Added fresh garlic and sliced mushrooms to the onion mixture, fresh chopped parsley and more spices such as oregano to the meat mixture. Use only cornstarch for gravy..no lumps and taste much better. Use less - 1tbs. Of cornstarch to 2tbs. Of flour! (DO NOT SKIP the Sherry, it is A MUST and I always use more as I add it to the onion mixture (I use REAL SHERRY.. YUM). Made this three times and the third I didn't have enough beef broth so I did add a can of golden mushroom soup (which I hate doing) but I have to say it was REALLY GOOD! Served with mashed potatoes (ANOTHER MUST) and fresh spinach. MY FAMILY LOVES THIS RECIPE, Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandabear1978
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This was delicious, the only change I made the second time around was that I made a double batch. My family loved it and ate every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Wow! Best hamburger steak ever. I added sauteed mushrooms and replaced the sherry (don't care for it) with 1 teaspoon of worchestershire in the gravy. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Charleston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mikado, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Great recipe from my childhood. Like recipes with wine, we omitted the sherry as we don't keep it on hand. It was still perfect. Tasted just like my mom used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
easy and tastey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I made this tonight. My husband and I loved it. The only slight change I made was that I popped my patties into the oven to cook through because I get paranoid. Not a necessity, just made me feel better about it. Hubby said it was even better as leftovers (which didnt even survive the night) after it had been sitting in the gravy for a couple of hours. Will absolutely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Absolutely awesome burgers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This is a nice dish but could have used a little more seasoning for us. I didn’t have any sherry so I added a little red wine and it worked out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States