Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by madirr
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Made this with a little more than a cup of onions, made more gravy, and substituted vanilla for sherry. Soooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I loved this recipe. I changed very little. I didn't have seasoned salt or cooking sherry, so I used regular salt and simply omitted the sherry. I made four larger patties instead of 8 small ones. The only complaint I had is I wish there was more gravy, so text time I may add an extra cup of broth and a bit more flour? The taste was just right and comforting. I served it with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLazyChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This was very quick and easy! The whole family enjoyed it. I used a bit of reserved bacon fat to give some smokey flavor when I cooked the onions. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bbrowneyes64
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Made this recipe as stated except two things, left out salt due to salt restriction and used Marsala wine because that's what I had. To me the burgers were more like meatloaf. I prefer to taste a little more beef when eating this way. I will make again however not using the bread crumbs and eggs. Gave 3 stars because it was just. "ok" for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Just made this tonight and it turned out absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and I think it tasted perfect, no need to change a thing. Super easy, pretty quick to make and very satisfying. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I added cream of mushroom soup instead of cooking sherry and came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
If you change or tweak a recipe then don't rate it! How can you be critical of a dish that you took liberties with? I will leave a review if I followed the recipe explicitly and it came out ho-hum...then and only then will I review it. Most of these recipes are a great starting place for a great meal to suit your personal tastes, however, the end result is your personal grade and not the submission's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This was good comfort food, I made it as written minus the sherry because I didn't have it, instead I splashed a little Worcestershire into the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrenalyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Simply fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Hughes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Great Recipe. Easy and fast with lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States