Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
These were so good. The onions make the patties really sweet and the gravy on top is a clutch move. I notice the the recipe is formatted for four servings, but makes eight patties. I think they would be equally good if they were four servings of four patties, but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
My family loved this. They even asked for seconds. Quick and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
On the real, I don't care for rice or gravy so I made this for my family. This was great, and I wouldn't give a 5 star rating if I wouldn't eat it again by choice. I am thinking next time I will add mushrooms to the gravy just for me. But we really liked this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This was a good meal. I did substitute ground chicken for the hamburger and the family didn't even notice. I didn't have sherry so I used marsala cooking wine and it still tasted great. I wish I had doubled the gravy ingredients because there wasn't enough! :) Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This was delicious! I didn't have onion salt so I used a toasted onion seasoning that I had on hand. Everyone loved it! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Followed this recipe exactly, and it was absolutely delicious! My boyfriend, our friends, and my father thought it was great! I served it with mashed new potatoes and butterbeans. I did not even double the gravy (like many people recommended) and I had enough to put on each persons mashed potatoes. I did make 6 patties instead of 8. I also used a Vidalia onion (the sweetness of the Vidalia enhanced the flavor). You have got to try this recipe, there's no way you'll be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Followed the recipe mostly... I didnt have any beef broth or sherry so I used water instead. It was delicious!!!!! And the hamburgers were not dry at all. Thank You for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Easy and hearty meal. My guy loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Yum, hubby loves this. Anything meat and potatoes and easy to make. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I have been making hamburger steak for years, and its good, but I did not know how bland mine was until I tried this recipe. OMG, this is so delicious!! I was kind of afraid to use sherry, never had used it before..but the worse thing is never make it again. I also have very picky kids. They all said it was a definite keeper. I tripled the gravy like others said. The gravy is so awesome, and my patties are always a bit dry and tough, these patties are melt in your mouth moist. Thank you for the awesome recipe, and for opening my eyes to sherry..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: La Porte, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States