Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Great flaver
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bert Carr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Great mid-week comfort food! Due to so many reviews showing lack of flavor, I just added a little dry mustard & nutmeg to meat mixture. Did make extra gravy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Delicious! I followed this almost exactly, except I used soft bread crumbs and vermouth rather that sherry (its what I had on hand). The steak is flavorful and the gravy adds a nice depth. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bschratter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Super Yummy!! I made one substitution and one addition. I also doubled the gravy and made 1 1/2 meat patties (made 7). It was a day where I had to run out to do an errand late afternoon so I cooked the onions slowly in olive oil and threw in 8 oz. of sliced mushrooms that I had near the end (the addition). I made the patties while this cooked and put them in the fridge while I let the onion mix cool and ran out. I then took the onions out of the pan, browned the patties, took them out and rhen deglazed the pan with white wine (the substitution-no sherry). I think red wine would work, too. I put the onion mix back in and followed the gravy instructions. I returned the patties as directed. I served with mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli. The gravy was DELICIOUS. Hubby said very little during dinner-he was eating up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I followed the recipe which is hard to do for me because I love to cook. I believe if I am going to rate a recipe then I should follow the recipe. Anyhow it's lacked flavor, next time, I will create my own
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Excellent, excellent recipe! I used a little too much oil, which turned out all right because it made extra gravy. The only reason I give it four stars instead of five is because although the gravy was excellent and the steaks were nice and tender, they were a little bland. A little extra Worcestershire would probably fix that. All in all, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Made this recipe exactly as written. I did make extra gravy though. It came out delicious. My kids couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
this recipe is great!! i subed ground turkey and added fresh sliced mushrooms to this. i also added sauteed diced onions and green peppers to the ground turkey mixture. taste was fantastic! definitely saving this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This was excellent. My sweetheart is hard to please and he loved it. Followed the other reviewers tips..used French's mush/onion gravy mix, added a can of cream of mushroom. Used beef broth instead of water in the onion/mush gravy mix, used very little ketchup and a bit of au us powdered gravy mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Surprisingly good for ground beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States