Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
My husband loves this. It's really good. I changed nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OrangeHibiscus
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Delicious! I've been making this for years & haven't done a review on it until now. Followed the recipe, except I have never used sherry in it, instead I just use pineapple juice. I leave out the black pepper because a family member didn't want it in there. I make my own seasoned salt from a copycat recipe from another site. I also use this recipe as a very flavorful and hardy local hawaii meal called "loco moco" just make put a sunny side egg on top patty and serve it over rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrangeHibiscus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
The recipe is fine... I just think it's rather ridiculous that you have to pay for a "pro membership" in order to to use the "Kitchen-Friendly View". This considering that these recipes are user submitted and you already have to put up with the continuous emails with ads and offers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Great recipe. Super simple and tasty as well. This was the first time that I actually made gravy that didn't taste like flour. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aneisa Marie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Wow, these were delicious !!! I followed the recipe exactly as written just doubled the gravy. Served over mash potatoes. What a hit with the family, they loved it. I will definitely be serving this again soon. - Mk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laceyworks
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This is my go to hamburger steak recipe. I made it the first time with cooking sherry, but it's not something I keep in my pantry, so I just omit it now. Sometimes I also replace the seasoned salt in the patties with Tony Chachere's original creole seasoning. I love that this recipe is flexible and easily modified! I will continue to use it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laceyworks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This was an amazing recipe! Even my very picky 7 yr old loved it! It was also very simple to follow and put together. I didn't have any bread crumbs, so i crushed up half a package of saltines instead. I also did not have any cooking sherry, so I just left that out. I took another's suggestion to double up the gravy however, and am very glad I did! All in all, this made a fantastic dinner and I will be adding it in to our monthly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YoungWife
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I absolutely adore these and so does the hubby! We have made them twice now since discovering the recipe about a week ago. I don't have cooking sherry so I've omitted that thus far :) the first time I added some vanilla extract instead and the 2nd time I didn't. It was good both ways! I use green onions, the entire bundle including the white parts instead of a regular onion and we love it this way. The 2nd time I made it I added half a lb of hamburger more and half of each ingredient more so that we got more patties. I found it makes 8 if you do that, as we like our patties to be of a good size :) The sauce comes out perfect!! Adding pics as well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This recipe is a keeper. My husband couldn't stop saying how good it tasted! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Photo by deanna252
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This was so easy and delicious! My husband raved at how good it was. I wanted to try something different than the hamburger steak I normally cook. So glad I found this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States