Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I always use a recipe as it calls first then if there are ideas my family would love I add it next time if the meal was a hit. This soooo was a hit!!!!! None left at all I may need to make this again really soon. Was thinking I could even add shredded veggies into the beef so I can sneak some in on them lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Made exactly as written. One word... Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I added mushrooms with the onion. I also added an egg as a binder for the meat mixture. I have made this many times, with and with out the wine. The wine adds a deep rich flavor just from the sweetness. Serve with a green salad and potato's. Awesome dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This recipe is spot on, just like my grandmother made, trouble is I did not like it then nor do I now. I did make this for my 80 something parents and they about lost their minds, can't remember when they enjoyed a meal so much. I followed the recipe exactly as written; no changing this or that. They requested I make it for their friends next week only this time I should cook the vegetables right. So, if you want to do something nice for your mom and dad make this meal and remember to turn those vegetables into mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This was a great recipe. I didn't have beef broth or sherry wine so I used chicken broth and marsala cooking wine instead - even my 3 year old ate it all up! I did follow suggestions by others and doubled the gravy ingredients (flour and water) and I still could have used more gravy...I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by indyscrapmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carthage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Terrific, I'll definitely make this again. The changes that I made are related to my diet. I left out the seasoned salt & Worcestershire. I didn't have the sherry and I used unsalted beef broth. Even with my changes the remaining flavors were delicious together. I also added a few sliced fresh mushrooms to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I made this last week and my family loved it. My husband gave it a 10, and he's the first one to criticize so I knew it was a keeper! I took the advice of other reviewers and doubled the gravy, glad I did because it was perfect over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This was easy to make and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mudpuppy1
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This recipe was perfect! First time I've ever made gravy successful and it was super easy! The whole family loved the recipe! I substituted apple cider for the sherry and crackers for the bread crumbs. Will be definitely making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Great addition to my recipe box. The family asked for seconds and my husband, who doesn't care for things Iike this ate without complaints! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsGemini529

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States