Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Have made these several times & each time they just get better! Family LOVES them! (Made them with ground venison & they were exceptional! My husband, who will not eat deer, didn't even know the difference!) This is truly a keeper! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cloverdale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Deliciously satisfying and easy to make, even for a novice like me. I made 6 patties (rather than 8), omitted the sherry and onion powder (because I didn't have any of either), and served the meal over white rice. As others have suggested, I would definitely recommend doubling the gravy. Also, I might try adding mushrooms the next time I make this as it would further enhance an already tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I made this last minute so I didnt have the cooking sherry. My husband and son both enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I may not have put enough seasonings into mine but this tasted like meatloaf with a less salty gravy. The patties were also flimsy, but that could have been because I had my fiancé shape them ;). The gravy was not as robust as I would have liked it to be so maybe adding a beef bouillon cube would have done the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Great recipe! Another recipe for hamburg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Just made these tonight, and I thought they were great; very tasty! I'll definitely make these again. I used about a cup of fresh bread crumbs since I didn't have any dry crumbs, and I didn't have any sherry. Also, I drained some of the hamburger grease off, so I added just a little water at the end because my gravy was a bit thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This recipe was very tasty and my family enjoyed it. As recommended by previous reviews I doubled the gravy, but otherwise followed it to a "t". I served this with mashed potatoes and would recommend tripling the gravy if you choose to do the same. The flavor of this earned 5 stars but because you need to double/triple the gravy, thereby modifying the original recipe, I gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Excellent - scott loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I didn't use Worcestershire or sherry (things I never cook with) and hubby and I loved it! Lots of onion flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly, and it didn't turn out. The hamburger steaks had good flavor, but were still raw in the middle (I tried the outside edges, which were cooked). The gravy didn't thicken, and didn't mix well, either. So, I threw it out and made regular brown gravy. I give it 3 stars due to the good flavor of the hamburger. Won't be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laylasmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States