Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by m3mphi5
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Followed the recipe for meat mixture to the letter. Doubled the gravy recipe per reviewer recommendations. once I started to deglaze pan with beef stock I added sliced mushrooms. Great recipe. I've never had Hamburger with onions from scratch, always from a t.v. dinner. This was simple and delicious. Will double the meat ingredients and triple the gravy next time. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m3mphi5
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Found this recipe yesterday and made it for dinner today. My husband was VERY pleased with it. Our daughter didn't really like the meat, but she's weird about ground beef. She liked the gravy (without onions) over her mashed potatoes. I've been looking for a Salisbury Steak recipe because my husband likes it so much, but they always seem to call for a can of soup, jar of gravy, or some sort of powdered mix. I avoid those things when possible, so I was thrilled to find this recipe. We try to do reduced sodium, so I used less salt in the meat. While cooking I realized I didn't have beef broth, so I used reduced sodium chicken broth. I skipped the season salt in the gravy and added a little beef "Better than Bouillon." Everything was good. I will increase the gravy next time, for the mashed potatoes. ~~Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was AWESOME!!!! I have been searching for years for a recipe like this, I have tried many. When my husband saw what I was making he looked like I handed down a death sentence! After dinner he asked me to save the leftovers!!!! I did use fresh garlic and onion (threw cloves of garlic and chunks of onion in the mini-chopper before adding to the burger). I also used Worcestershire in place of the cooking sherry (never did like cooking sherry- LOVE the real thing though:) as suggested by others. Thank you so much Anne Marie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Trap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Pretty good! It's definitely an easy meal. The only thing was that I didn't see the second 1/2 tsp of seasoned salt on the list of ingredients so I think I added too much by eyeballing it, it was a little too salty. We'll have to see how it turns out next time I make it according to the recipe. But overall pretty good and I'd definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
My entire family, including picky 5 year old, loved this recipe. I didn't have any sherry, so I left it out. My can of beef both was 10.5 ounces so I used the entire can and just reduced the gravy down a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
We loved this recipe! We don't eat ground beef, so I substituted ground turkey and chicken broth. It still turned out great. Served with garlic red potatoes by MARDI1030.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I didn't prepare the recipe exactly as written. I didn't have any cooking sherry so I just left it out. I misread the tsp of salt for a Tbsp so I reduced the Worcestershire sauce which fortunately didn't negatively affect the outcome. I mixed the ground beef with turkey and added a splash of liquid smoke just because I like the flavor. Everything else I followed verbatim. I will definitely make this again! It turned out terrific and my family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Richmond Hill, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
loved it. I didn't have sherry and omitted the season salt - it really didnt need any more flavor or salt - but otherwise I followed the recipe. I did make more gravy - I could use a ton more gravy. I served it with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This a great recipe but I instead of ground beef, I used ground turkey, chopped garlic, and tad more worcestershire. I highly recommend the ground turkey for a healthier and lighter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
gawest1@cox.net GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States