Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This is a nice dish but could have used a little more seasoning for us. I didn’t have any sherry so I added a little red wine and it worked out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
need a big pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I thought this was great; tasted like really good Salisbury steak. I took out the meat and onion when I made the gravy. I used a whole can of broth, an added a couple of extra forks of flour. I forgot to use sherry and prob won't use it in future just cause it was so good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Perfect as written! The family loved it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, except I had no sherry. It was very good and a huge hit, even with my kids! This is a keeper for future dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherFletcher79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Very good recipe. My picky eater actually requested seconds. The only modification made to the original recipe was to omit the sherry. I missed the part about adding the onions to the oil with the hamburger patties so I just cooked them after I finished browning the patties. I also browned the flour for a darker color and richer flavor. All in all, this was a wonderful recipe that hit the spot and didn't call for a lot of prep or fuss. Will be working this into the rotation. Thank you so much for sharing. **********************************************************************Made this again tonight and I doubled the gravy ingredients, omitted the sherry and it was just ok. I think the problem was the fact that I used ground chuck from Wal-Mart instead of from a local grocer that butchers their meat. I highly recommend that you use a good quality ground chuck or ground round if using Walmart meat. The end result tonight was a lot greasier than the times I have made it before. I won't change my rating because I do think it is worthy of my 4 stars originally rated. Also, remember, the recipe calls for garlic and onion POWDER, not garlic salt or onion salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Delicious! I'll never make plain ol' hamburger patties again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Thanks for sharing this recipe! It tasted so delicious, but was deceptively easy to make. I didn't make any changes except for omitting the sherry since I didn't have any. Served with white rice and mixed veggies - great way to use ground beef. Will go into our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This wasn't something my parents ever fed me growing up, I only just learned I like this Salisbury steak kind of meal when I had it recently at the cafeteria at work. I was really excited to try this recipe, it sounded great. It also smelled fantastic while it was cooking. That smell didn't completely translate into the taste though. It was ok, but not *great*. I agree with one review I read that said the patties tasted very 'meaty'. I realize that's a silly thing to say about a hunk of meat, but I can't think of another way to describe it. I think it was actually the taste of the drippings in the gravy though. I think I would have preferred to drain most of the drippings and add some butter to the pan to finish cooking the onions and make the gravy; it could maybe just be that I'm used to buying extra lean ground beef and bought lean this time. I also would have liked more onion; I didn't really realize how little there was in the pan until I went to serve. They cooked down quite a bit. My gravy was also lumpy but that's really no one's fault but my own. I put too much flour I think, maybe I shouldn't have quite doubled that when I doubled the gravy. I didn't have sherry so I used a splash of red wine in the gravy and that was good. Thanks for the recipe, I was happy to try it and I enjoyed the meal, but I think I'll try a different recipe the next time I want this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Quick and good. Made this recipe in under 20 minutes (including prep time)! I had gravy left over so I saved it and made the steaks again a few days later. This one is fool proof and a go to for a quick fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States