Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by CoachT
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I really liked this recipe after cooking tonight and will cook again!! Cooked in my cast iron pot that I think really helped it all coke together. I did do not follow recipe exactly. First off I did not use the sherry. I did increase the spice/heat by using hot & spicy bread crumbs, also used hot slap ya mama seasoning for the salt portion, and of course a little cayenne red pepper as well. Had the exact heat I like and wanted in the recipe and also helped the onions and gravy taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Instead of cooking sherry, I used about 2 T. of apple juice. I sliced a whole onion very thin, probably had over a cup. I made 4 hamburger sized patties. Otherwise followed the recipe and it was very good. Served it with mashed potatoes, made is a classic comfort food dish. I'm excited for the left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Faith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
This was delicious! definitely making this again. It was packed full of flavor. My alterations: oatmeal instead of bread crumbs, 4 cloves of fresh garlic instead of powder, Jamaican pickapeppa sauce instead of worcestershire, peanut oil instead of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Delicious! The only thing I would change is to use 80% ground beef, because with 85%, we had very little meat drippings left for the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Made exactly as written - I thought the hamburger patties were alright, but I did not enjoy the gravy at all. Sorry, not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Delicious and easy! This was a huge hit! It was easy to make and was perfect served with mashed potatoes and green beans. I was a little skeptical, because it sounded a lot like meatloaf (and I hate meatloaf!) but I thought I would try it anyways. This will become a staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Easy and delicious. I didn't want to purchase sherry for this small amount and didn't miss it. This will be a regular addition of meals for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schipperke Trainer

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy Haiku: "Didn't change a thing. Comforting and tasty meal. But it looked ugly." I chose to ignore all the reviews' suggestions and tweaks and just made it as written; oh wait, this doesn't count, but I made 5 patties instead of 8 out of my 1 lb beef b/c 8 seemed too tiny. We thought it was really good, but there wasn't enough gravy for 3 of us to lube both our "steaks" as well as our potatoes. If I make this again, I'd increase the ingredients to make more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I made this as written and we found this to be really bland. I will try it again but using fresh fresh herbs as mentioned by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,497) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States