Hamburger Spinach Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bethze
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I am the poster of this recipe. There is no typo on the two boxes of spinach. It fits! :) Also, my recipe calls for Heavy Whipping Cream (not Heavy Cream). For some reason, Allrecipes changed the directions I submitted. There is no need to chill the crust when it's coming out of the freezer, and no need to mess around with foil and pie weights (completely unnecessary). Follow these instructions, and you'll end up with a hearty, delicious, comfort food meal: Heat oven to 350. Prick pie shell with fork and bake for a few minutes to firm the crust. Brown beef and onion. Drain off fat. Squeeze spinach to remove moisture. Mix with beef and onion. Beat eggs. Add cream and spices. Combine this mixture with beef mixture. Pour into the baked pie shell. Sprinkle with cheese. Bake about 25 minutes until filling is set. (It takes longer in my oven. I loosely cover with foil to prevent the cheese and crust from burning for those first 25 minutes, and then bake it another 10 minutes or so uncovered to get everything nicely browned.) Let stand 10 minutes before slicing. (We never wait that long.) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
DELISH !! Not having the ground beef, I used 8 leftover large meatballs coated with sauce, diced into cubes instead, and stirred the 1 cup of cheese into the egg mixture. I only covered the pie crust with 2 layers of foil, and put it into the oven for 10 minutes total, before adding the egg/meat/spinach/cheese filling. I had no weights or beans. This quiche was SOOOO good. Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I made a recipe based on this yesterday, and it turned out to be quite delicious! I used ground breakfast sausage in place of the hamburger, 1c onion, and fresh spinach in place of frozen. After browning the sausage & onions, i put the spinach into the pan & covered it for it all to steam until the spinach wilted. Drain it well! The sausage I used was incredibly lean and didn't make any grease, so i added a tbsp of bacon drippings to the pan before adding sausage and onion. I had a deep baking dish and smaller eggs fresh from a farm, so I used 6 eggs and 1 1/2 c. milk. Left out the nutmeg, but added shredded grana padano cheese (can use parmesan instead) into the mix. Topped it with shredded Colby instead of cheddar. It was incredibly good. My husband called it the best quiche he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Very hearty meal, that's for sure. I added some chopped orange pepper just to add more veggies, and I used goat cheese instead of cheddar. I didn't put in as much spinach as called for--it really is a lot just with one package, trust me! If this had ham in it, it really would be green eggs and ham! The submitter is correct--this really isn't a true quiche, but that's okay. Very similar. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
this was really good... I didn't have spinach on hand, but I did have chopped broccoli which made a wonderful substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This turned out tasty with some modifications. I added about a cup of mashed butternut squash to add more veg. Ended up using 3 eggs to boost the protein some more. I put the ground beef and veg mixture into the bottom of the pie pan, sprinkled the cheese, and poured on the eggs and milk. I added the seasonings in and added some red pepper too, into the meat mixture while it was cooing.Also forgot to prebake the crust, but it turned out fine baking @ 375 for 1 hour. Overall, really yummy. I am just awful at following a recipe as written. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
ALERT - their must be a typo in the recipe, should only be one 10 oz box of frozen spinach. Otherwise, GREAT dinner. I used a pre-made pie crust (thawed overnight in fridge) and barely fit the mix with just one box of spinach included (two boxes would have been crazy). Very filling and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I've been cooking for over 50 yrs. and thought I'd try this. 2 boxes of spinach is way too much, and it leaked all over--good thing I put it on a cookie sheet in the oven. The cheese should have been sprinkled on the last 10 minutes or so--had to cover with foil to keep it from burning. The kids didn't like it, although they love different kinds of quiche. So much for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States