Hamburger Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
When making this soup you need to use the "cheaper" hamburger, it will give the soup more flavor even though you do stain out most of the fat. Also please remember that a stalk of celery is the whole thing (not just one rib of the celery). Onion and other veggies can easily be added to this recipe. I don't like onion so don't use it very often. I also add several cubes of beef bullion (2-4, otherwise it can get too salty).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Pemberville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
Rave reviews with this easy recipe. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
This is a wonderful, flavorful recipe. Good old fashioned comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I loved this recipe. Along with some homemade bread, my husband and I find this makes a complete meal. I added a large can of tomato sauce and some Italian seasoning and the added flavour was wonderful. This will now be a regular soup in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This is a very good soup! I did make a few changes, as suggested in some prior reviews. I added 2 onions, 1 more stalk of celery, garlic, Sherry, Liquid Smoke, beef bouillon, homemade vegatable stock, Italian seasoning, and fresh parsley (instead of dried). I sauteed 1 onion and 3 T. chopped garlic with the meat, drained off the fat, saving about 3 T. to saute the vegatables. Sauteed 2 stalks celery, cabbage, carrots and potatoes, another onion and added 3 T. of Liquid Smoke. While that was cooking, I added 1 c. Sherry, 4 T. beef bouillon granules, 1 T. Italian Seasoning, 1/2 c. fresh parsley, corn, barley, mushrooms, tomatoes, 6 c. homemade vegatable stock, water, salt & pepper to the hamburger mix. After vegatables were sauteed, I added everything together in one large pot. After this came to a boil, I let it simmer for 1 1/2 hours, while the bread finished rising and baking. Very flavorful this way and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
You have to add beef boullion cubes - I added about 12 to 14 cubes you figure there is 12 cup of water. I also added onion when I browned up the meat. Omitted mushrooms and parsley (I didn't have them) Everyone like it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I really like this recipe since it's so adaptable. I used quinoa instead of barley and you can easily use whatever vegetables you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
This was okay, but it would have been pretty bland if I hadn't added some beef soup base and 4 beef bouillon cubes. It is a good way to clean out your vegetable drawer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Was good, next time I will cut the potatoes smaller and add a little extra liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Goleta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
I left out the corn, mushrooms and barley and added some soya sauce for flavor. It's quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States