Hamburger Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Loved, loved this soup! Did alter the ingredients though. Added diced onions and green peppers, 1 1/2 lbs. kielbasa as I didn't have enough hamburger and substituted cauliflower for the potatoes. I also reduced the amount of water to 2 1/2 quarts as we prefer less broth. Definitely will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I really like this recipe since it's so adaptable. I used quinoa instead of barley and you can easily use whatever vegetables you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
When making this soup you need to use the "cheaper" hamburger, it will give the soup more flavor even though you do stain out most of the fat. Also please remember that a stalk of celery is the whole thing (not just one rib of the celery). Onion and other veggies can easily be added to this recipe. I don't like onion so don't use it very often. I also add several cubes of beef bullion (2-4, otherwise it can get too salty).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Pemberville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
You have to add beef boullion cubes - I added about 12 to 14 cubes you figure there is 12 cup of water. I also added onion when I browned up the meat. Omitted mushrooms and parsley (I didn't have them) Everyone like it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Was good, next time I will cut the potatoes smaller and add a little extra liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Goleta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I don't know it lacked something...I guess if I experimented a little more I could of be happy...might try again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEE61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I was disappointed in this soup. With the amount of vegetables it should have been more flavourful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oldina Wahlers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ridgeway, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This is a very good soup! I did make a few changes, as suggested in some prior reviews. I added 2 onions, 1 more stalk of celery, garlic, Sherry, Liquid Smoke, beef bouillon, homemade vegatable stock, Italian seasoning, and fresh parsley (instead of dried). I sauteed 1 onion and 3 T. chopped garlic with the meat, drained off the fat, saving about 3 T. to saute the vegatables. Sauteed 2 stalks celery, cabbage, carrots and potatoes, another onion and added 3 T. of Liquid Smoke. While that was cooking, I added 1 c. Sherry, 4 T. beef bouillon granules, 1 T. Italian Seasoning, 1/2 c. fresh parsley, corn, barley, mushrooms, tomatoes, 6 c. homemade vegatable stock, water, salt & pepper to the hamburger mix. After vegatables were sauteed, I added everything together in one large pot. After this came to a boil, I let it simmer for 1 1/2 hours, while the bread finished rising and baking. Very flavorful this way and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
This recipe is good, but a lot like one I already have. I wanted to do something with some barley I have, so I gave it a try. I agree with some other reviewers that the recipe is pretty bland, so I added an onion, some garlic, and a few beef bouillon cubes. I also left out the corn and mushrooms but added some zuchinni because I had some I wanted to use up. With these changes and some fresh rolls it was a very good meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachakno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Priest River, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I always saute my vegatbles before adding to the soup - this makes a HUGE difference in the flavor(try it and you will agree). I fried the beef in a huge saucepan, removed from pan then sauted two onions and garlic (I don't know why this recipie doesn't have onions!) and the other vegetables. Then in the same sauce pan added all ingrediants, in the interest of conserving flavor and reducing dishes. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States