Hamburger Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I just posted this review under Hamburger Soup IV! Oops! This is the recipe that I made last week and LOVED! I didn't have carrots so I didn't use them. Finely chopped the onion and sauteed with beef. Threw in frozen green beans and some chopped celery. Used a big can of whole tomatoes, which I chopped up before I threw them in. I used potatoes cut into small pieces and small pasta. It tasted so much like the Chunky soup that I made small hamburger patties to use in it this week!! I'm also going to use some cornstarch to thicken it up a bit, because the more it resembles the Chunky Hamburger soup, the more my kids will eat! Thanks so much for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SukeyNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This soup is very easy and was a big hit with my family. I served it with some parmesan cheese sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Great base recipe! we just added whatever left over frozen veggies i had on hand along with some garlic diced tomatoes instead of stewed. Huge pot and we had no leftovers. A new favorite in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Excellent soup to warm you up on a cold night...I added a bag of frozen corn instead of the peas, added can of green beans and 1 potatoe, it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Pretty tasty. I used a bag of frozen veggies and a can of stewed tomatoes. I had no idea the stewed tomatoes would be so big. Next time I will get the diced tomatoes. I will definitely be making this again. A good hot soup for a cold Winter day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This was delicious! I'm on a strict budget right now, but I'm also trying to be healthy and this recipe definitely fit the bill! I made it on a stormy, cold, rainy night and needless to say, it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy Betz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highlands, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Really good, satisfying and easy soup. I made it even easier by throwing everything (hamburger already cooked) into the crockpot and setting it on low for the day while I was at work. Smelled wonderful when I got home and opened the door! Changed up by adding a couple of chopped shallots (instead of onion)and (2) cloves garlic, only (1) can stewed tomatoes, added a small can of tomato sauce (would like to try a can of V8), frz. corn instead of peas, left the pasta out and added (2) sliced carrots. I simply changed this according to what I would enjoy most in the soup but I am sure this would be just as good if followed exactly how written! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Yummy! I thing the recipe was good as a starter ~ but I did change some things like everyone else did. Firstly, we don't eat beef much, so I never have it on hand. I made it with ground chicken and used chicken broth instead of the beef broth. I used 1/4 cup sliced baby carrots (next time I will leave them out as my family really doesn't care for cooked carrots). I had 3 small ears of frozen corn that I nuked for a minute, then sliced the kernals in the soup. I used 1 large jar of stewed tomatoes that I canned from the summer. Didn't have the peas, so obviously that wasn't in there ~ and I used dried onion as my middle son will not eat cooked onions. I also didn't have macaroni noodles, so I used medium shells. I put a couple of shakes of Worchestershire sauce in and it was great! I served garlic bread on the side (my version, hamburger buns, halved, butter spread on and some garlic salt w/ oregano). It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica New Alford

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This was really good and EASY! I did add a few things like previous reviews recommended though. I added frozen veggies, omitted the macaroni, added diced potatoes, a few splashes of Worcestershire's, some Italian seasoning, and salt and pepper. It came out awesome and perfect for the cold damp weather!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaybaby

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This soup was easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States