Hamburger Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I just posted this review under Hamburger Soup IV! Oops! This is the recipe that I made last week and LOVED! I didn't have carrots so I didn't use them. Finely chopped the onion and sauteed with beef. Threw in frozen green beans and some chopped celery. Used a big can of whole tomatoes, which I chopped up before I threw them in. I used potatoes cut into small pieces and small pasta. It tasted so much like the Chunky soup that I made small hamburger patties to use in it this week!! I'm also going to use some cornstarch to thicken it up a bit, because the more it resembles the Chunky Hamburger soup, the more my kids will eat! Thanks so much for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SukeyNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This soup is very easy and was a big hit with my family. I served it with some parmesan cheese sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Great base recipe! we just added whatever left over frozen veggies i had on hand along with some garlic diced tomatoes instead of stewed. Huge pot and we had no leftovers. A new favorite in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Excellent soup to warm you up on a cold night...I added a bag of frozen corn instead of the peas, added can of green beans and 1 potatoe, it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Pretty tasty. I used a bag of frozen veggies and a can of stewed tomatoes. I had no idea the stewed tomatoes would be so big. Next time I will get the diced tomatoes. I will definitely be making this again. A good hot soup for a cold Winter day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This was delicious! I'm on a strict budget right now, but I'm also trying to be healthy and this recipe definitely fit the bill! I made it on a stormy, cold, rainy night and needless to say, it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy Betz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highlands, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Really good, satisfying and easy soup. I made it even easier by throwing everything (hamburger already cooked) into the crockpot and setting it on low for the day while I was at work. Smelled wonderful when I got home and opened the door! Changed up by adding a couple of chopped shallots (instead of onion)and (2) cloves garlic, only (1) can stewed tomatoes, added a small can of tomato sauce (would like to try a can of V8), frz. corn instead of peas, left the pasta out and added (2) sliced carrots. I simply changed this according to what I would enjoy most in the soup but I am sure this would be just as good if followed exactly how written! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Yummy! I thing the recipe was good as a starter ~ but I did change some things like everyone else did. Firstly, we don't eat beef much, so I never have it on hand. I made it with ground chicken and used chicken broth instead of the beef broth. I used 1/4 cup sliced baby carrots (next time I will leave them out as my family really doesn't care for cooked carrots). I had 3 small ears of frozen corn that I nuked for a minute, then sliced the kernals in the soup. I used 1 large jar of stewed tomatoes that I canned from the summer. Didn't have the peas, so obviously that wasn't in there ~ and I used dried onion as my middle son will not eat cooked onions. I also didn't have macaroni noodles, so I used medium shells. I put a couple of shakes of Worchestershire sauce in and it was great! I served garlic bread on the side (my version, hamburger buns, halved, butter spread on and some garlic salt w/ oregano). It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This was really good and EASY! I did add a few things like previous reviews recommended though. I added frozen veggies, omitted the macaroni, added diced potatoes, a few splashes of Worcestershire's, some Italian seasoning, and salt and pepper. It came out awesome and perfect for the cold damp weather!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaybaby

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This soup was easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States