Hamburger Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I thought this tasted good. I have a homemade hamburger soup I prefer to make. This was fine for ease, to avoid chopping a bunch of vegetables, but it is a little salty. I used lean beef, mixed up beef broth using beef base, and subbed one of the cans with tomato juice I had to use up. My mixed vegetables had corn and green beans, which was fine. I did one canned stewed tomatoes and one petite diced low sodium. Before adding any pasta, it looked really watery. So, I decided to just add the pasta, dry, to the soup. That made it less watery and acidic. It was between a thick soup and goulash, then, which I prefer. I got no less than 6 servings at 292 calories made as written here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blondyblue7
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I love making this for my family.. always make a double batch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blondyblue7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This recipe was fantastic. Changed peas & carrots to peas & corn. The only other thing I would do differently would be to add macaroni to each serving rather than add macaroni to the entire pot of soup as the macaroni absorbed a lot of the broth and became mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
They were right this is a stick to your rib kinda soup. Great soup to have when come in from shoveling snow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSSPARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Took a lot of doctoring! Jacob & Tim liked, though. Used crushed tomatoes - still too tomatoey for Ryan. Added thyme, tons of worcestershire, garlic salt, onion powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I add chopped onion and garlic (and zucchini if I have it,) omit the pasta, and serve it with cooked brown rice and shredded sharp cheddar on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
As most reviewers did, I made a few adjustments to this recipe to suit what I had on hand. I was short on pasta and added a small amount of ditalini and compensated for the shortage by adding a can of beans. Since many had said it needed more flavor, I added some Mrs. Dash seasoning and some Montreal Steak Seasoning. I also threw in the remains of a bag of frozen green beans. Overall it was a very satisfying soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This turned out pretty good! It just needs more flavor. I didn't have stewed tomatoes so used one can of diced tomatoes and one can of tomato soup. Used a crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
A little too tomatoey for my liking ... but that's just my taste ... otherwise it was delicious. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States