Hamburger Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
I did not read the other reviews first and it was very bland - nothing special. If you do not like spices this is the recipe for you! I will try again with the spices, etc but I am one to rate a recipe base on how it is written, not on what I had to do to it to make it good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
This was good. I added a bunch of spices like other reviewers suggested. Both my daughter and husband liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
The first time I made this I didn't like the condensed tomato soup taste, so now I add 2 cans of diced tomatoes to it and spice it up with an envelope of Knorr's Vegetable Soup. The recipe as written definitely needs spicing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
my family liked this. i did add more spices. but very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
I am glad I read all of your reviews before I took this to my workplace. It was bland so I added oregano, basil, garlic salt, celery salt, onion powder.... I added frozen corn, too. I also added a cup of beef broth since it needed more liquid. Well, my work place is in the middle of construction right now and a lot of construction workers tried out our food day and my soup was all gone by 10:00am..... They loved it. Thanks for the recipe. I doubled the recipe and slow cooked for about 10 hours. Potatoes were just right then.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
Like others I doubled the amount of water and also added a jar of canned tomatoes with juice to make it a bit more soupy. I also added more spices with the salt and pepper: oregano, basil, thyme, parsley, garlic, celery salt, and dehydrated onion. Hearty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
I love this! While I keep to the basic recipe, I try use fresh ingredients instead of canned if I can. I often prepare the veggies the night before, except the potatoes which I slice right before cooking. I cook the beef with Red Robin seasoning (a tomato-based seasoning mix; there's a clone recipe for it on line, do a Google search), and use the seasoning for the layers instead of salt and pepper. Depending upon the weather, I may or may not have to add more water later on, it just depends. We prefer this recipe to be a little thicker, but I think it is a personal preference thing as to consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: California City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
Even my picky four year old loved this, served with rice. I added basil, oregano and two bay leaves as well as some chicken broth to this recipe and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
I ran out of tomato soup and improvised with a beef bouillon base instead. If I had baked mashed potatoes as a top layer this would have been the best shepherds pie ever! As it is was great though, two thumbs up from the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
I made it exactly as is, and it was wonderful except it needed more liquid! Very flavorful from all of the veggies! Since there are only 2 of us, next time I'll cut everything in 1/2 and leave the soup/water portion as is. I just served with bisquits and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States