Hamburger Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2000
This is a really good soup. Hearty flavor and filling. I sometimes add peas or bean in addition to or instead of the corn. Worth the cooking time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
this has already become a standard in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I made this tonight for dinner as a last minute kind of a thing and wasn't disappointed with how it turned out. I did make a few changes though: sauteed a tsp of minced garlic with the onions and celery in a tsp of olive oil then added the rest of the ingredients. I also added a tsp of thyme and 1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper along with the basil. I didn't have tomato sauce so I left that out and added more water. I also threw in a can of dark kidney beans and used a can of corn (both undrained) and used probably twice as much ketchup to add a little more tomato taste. During the last 20 min of cooking I added 3/4 cup of macaroni and served each the soup in bowls topped with shredded parmesan. It had a little bit of everything, but I like soup like that and it still went over well with my kids. I didn't have time for homemade bread so instead made homemade pumpkin apple muffins from this site and there were no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
My 2 children love this soup. When the weather starts to cool down my 7-year old "begs" me to make it. And now that is old enough she helps me measure all the ingrediants for the soup. My whole family loves it for gatherings. I made a huge hit with it Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
This soup was very tasty. I did make a few changes though. I omitted the celery and added a package of frozen peas instead. The diced tomatoes and tomato sauce I used were preflavored with basil and onion. I also added 2 teaspoons of Paul Prudhomme's Meat Seasoning. I let it simer for 2 and a half hours so it was nice and thick when I served it. My husband loved this soup. I will be making this on a regular basis this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Great recipe - even my picky friends loved it! I did follow other reviewers' advice and added macaroni (along with an extra 2 cups of water - we like it soupy) and italian seasoning in lieu of the dried basil. When I make this for myself and have no picky eaters around, I plan to add mushrooms, stewed tomatoes and kidney beans to add some more flavor. Still a terrific recipe as is, though! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
This was very good, I did add the egg noodles like other reviewers had said and also added minced garlic and the italian seasoning instead of basil because I didn't have any, but it was still really good and the kids loved it to! Also instead of bread I made corn bread muffins and that was good with it as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
I had to alter this recipe a bit to make it lower in carbs for my hubby, but it was fantastic. I omitted the carrots and corn and used zucchini, a can of mushrooms, and green bell pepper instead. I also added minced garlic, salt, and pepper to the meat while it was cooking. I used two cans of tomato sauce and no ketchup. I think the ultimate result could use some more zest, so I will try adding a chopped, fresh jalapeno to the pot next time. Either way, this is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
Great recipe. I left out the celery and added peas and green beans instead and it turned out great. Another addition is to add garlic to the meat while it browns. This adds a good taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ellsworth Afb, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Soup is delicious. I substituted ground turkey and served with shredded cheddar cheese. Disappeared in one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States