Hamburger Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I've got my whole family hooked on this soup. So simple yet so good. I omitted the corn, added some garlic and parsley and Worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
i loved it. I added a few extra things though. i added all ingredients except diced tomatos and i added two cloves of garlic (and i sauted the onion and garlic in light butter before i added them), i added only half the corn and added chopped broccoli. i simmered the soup for about half an hour and added chopped cabbage and cooked for another hour. it was delicious i already added this to my recipe book, thanks for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I really thought of chili with this soup so I added black beans, Worcestershire sauce, brown sugar, chili powder, and minced garlic. I served it with sour cream, shredded cheese and green onions with garlic bread and everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I added a teaspoon of Penzy's dried garlic and a tablespoon of fresh lemon juice which I think really changed the soup into a masterpiece. It added a subtle clean flavor that I think was unexpected but somehow lightened and complimented the other flavors. Three thumbs up from teenage boys and hungry husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wondermom
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Auntielinn
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This was close to the soup my mom would make as we grew up. I'm in my 50's now. The only thing different is that she would brown the hamburger with the onions in a skillet and start the veggies that needed cooking in the water/beef bouillion in the stock pot. When the meat/onions were cooked, she would drain the meat and add it to the stock pot. Then season the pot of soup. She also would look into the fridge for any "left over" veggies that could go into the pot. I could honestly eat this everyday with a few crackers. Hearty and delicious and inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
My mother made this soup, we simply called it "vegetable soup". We started chopped onions, diced potatoes, mixed vegetables in bag or can and then added whatever vegetables we liked, green beans, lima beans, a little frozen spinach crumbled in is nice as well. The ketchup adds a little sweetness to the pot but canned tomatoes work just as well. I instead use a can of crushed tomato with puree and a little bit of sugar to bring out the tomato flavor. My mother would hand squeeze whole tomatoes into the pot but I never liked the hulls or big bits of tomato. Butter bread is a must to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Thanks for posting this, we love it! I made a few changes to it though, just out of personal preference- I omitted the can of tomoatoes, added some fresh mushrooms, & only added 4 cubes of bouillon rather than all 6. Also tried something another reviewer had mentioned- I just added about a half teaspoon of majoram instead of the basil- good suggestion! I love how you can really customize this recipe to make it however you like- I will definitely be making this again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Delicious!! I used basil/oregano diced tomatos and a couple of splashes of worchestchire sauce. I didnt quite understand the ketchup so I completely omitted it. Sprinkled each serving with a little bit of cheese and serve with a half a grilled cheese sandwich(mostly to appeal to the kids) 13, 10 and 2 year old loved it! Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I used frozen peas and carrots as well as corn. This is a very good soup but needed some additional flavor. I added one tablespoon of worchestshire (at my husband's request) and two teaspoons of cayenne. My youngest raved about how good it was so I'm really glad that I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
favorite fall/winter soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States