Hamburger Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
My mother made this soup, we simply called it "vegetable soup". We started chopped onions, diced potatoes, mixed vegetables in bag or can and then added whatever vegetables we liked, green beans, lima beans, a little frozen spinach crumbled in is nice as well. The ketchup adds a little sweetness to the pot but canned tomatoes work just as well. I instead use a can of crushed tomato with puree and a little bit of sugar to bring out the tomato flavor. My mother would hand squeeze whole tomatoes into the pot but I never liked the hulls or big bits of tomato. Butter bread is a must to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Thanks for posting this, we love it! I made a few changes to it though, just out of personal preference- I omitted the can of tomoatoes, added some fresh mushrooms, & only added 4 cubes of bouillon rather than all 6. Also tried something another reviewer had mentioned- I just added about a half teaspoon of majoram instead of the basil- good suggestion! I love how you can really customize this recipe to make it however you like- I will definitely be making this again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Delicious!! I used basil/oregano diced tomatos and a couple of splashes of worchestchire sauce. I didnt quite understand the ketchup so I completely omitted it. Sprinkled each serving with a little bit of cheese and serve with a half a grilled cheese sandwich(mostly to appeal to the kids) 13, 10 and 2 year old loved it! Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I used frozen peas and carrots as well as corn. This is a very good soup but needed some additional flavor. I added one tablespoon of worchestshire (at my husband's request) and two teaspoons of cayenne. My youngest raved about how good it was so I'm really glad that I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
favorite fall/winter soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I made this recipe almost exactly the way is it written. The only thing I need different was doubled the basil and added some oregano. The whole family loved it. Will be making it again but with a bit more vegetables. I also wasn't sure about adding the ketchup but was very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This is simple and easy. Made it 2x now. Each time with different things. Made a few changes (lack of certain ingredients). Have to add garlic (2 cloves) no matter what. Have tried it with italian seasoning instead of basil, and flavored tomatoes and plain ones. Each way is great. Also, I add a cup each of beans, corn, peas (all frozen). no canned veg. Cringed about the ketchup but it really makes all the flavours pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roblin, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I added more veggies, but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I really liked this soup! Based on the reviews, I decided to make it a bit heartier and flavorful by adding a can of kidney beans, more vegetables and a couple of bay leaves. It still needed a bit more kick so I added some hot sauce. Next time I make it, I'll add a can of green chiles. This is definitely a go-to soup during the winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
A hearty, filling soup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States