Hamburger Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Delicious and hardy. I omitted the diced tomatoes (my son hates tomatoes) and ketchup (didn't see a purpose for this). I also used a beef stock since I try and cut down on sodium whenever possible and I think it just tastes better that way. I never would have thought to put ground beef (my least favourite meat) in a soup, but I was pleasantly surprised. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Great recipe. I followed modifications suggested by cpenabauer and came out very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
We loved it!!! I used beef broth instead of the water/bouillon mix! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Soup was really easy and flavorful. I sent my husband to the store for ingredients and he bought regular boulion instead of the lower sodium that I would have purchased, making the soup a little salty for my taste even though I didn't add any salt. Otherwise, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Most Excellent recipe. I've made this a few times and always always make it to a T, but this last time. I did one change not meaning to all by accident. Hubby brought home tomato sauce and diced tomatoes that were seasoned with garlic, oregano and basil. And was worried that I'd over power it with the added dried basil in the recipe, but as a result...it didn't. Hubby said it was by far the best batch of Hamburger Soup yet. So I'm shining my apple on my shoulder so to speak and going to keep doing it with the seasoned tomatoes and sauce....yumm-O. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This soup is excellent. I've been making this for years, with a different recipe that I got years ago. Mine calls for the hamburger, but I also put potatoes, corn, green beans, peas, and cabbage, along with the onion, carrots, and diced tomatoes. I did not use basil, either, as someone else suggested, but use garlic, marjoram, and thyme instead. You can also throw a bay leaf in if you want, and of course a little salt and pepper. It comes out as a very hearty veggie soup with hamburger in it! It's been made in our family for years, and everyone loves it! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Odessa, Michigan, USA
Living In: Two Rivers, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is pretty darn good! I added in two russet potatoes after reading the recipe. Will definitely make this again (with potatoes)! I didn't have plain diced tomatoes on hand, so used diced tomatoes with green chiles... was a little worried about the profile, but the chiles gave it a nice subtle kick. Also added some frozen peas. Thanks for sharing the recipe AKHowell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I browned the ground beef with onion and minced garlic. Drained any grease. Added water, carrots, celery, a handful of cubed butternut squash, 4tsp. powdered beef bouillon, tomato sauce, 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes w/basil, garlic & oregano, frozen corn and ketchup. Add extra basil to your own taste. Did not add any salt. Topped with shredded mozzarella cheese. Covered and simmered until the veggies were tender. This recipe can be adjusted for whatever ingredients you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I was craving home made soup, and had the ingredients so decided to give this a try. It turned out great, but I think it would have been a bit bland without the help of others' suggestions. I combined many of them, which were key to success! Here's my combo of tweaks- Substitutions: Stewed tomatoes instead of chopped, Italian seasoning instead of basil. Additions: 1 clove crushed garlic, 1 tsp. Worcestershire, 1 bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States