Hamburger Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
I made this exactly as stated the first time and found it a bit bland. The second time I added two cloves of garlic, used 28 oz. diced tomatoes and 14 oz. tomato sauce, 4 c. beef broth, 1 c. mushrooms and 1 c. peas and it made a huge difference - everything else was the same. I have also tried this once with ground bison and it was fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
303 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
YUM! This was so good and I'm not a huge soup fan. I replaced the bouillon and water with three cans of low sodium beef broth and added a cup of ditalini pasta towards the end. Great change of pace from boring vegetable soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ahoskie, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
This is an excellent basic soup. After reading the reviews I decided to make it heartier with a little more flavor. I left out the celery, added 14 ounce can of kidney beans, instead of bouillon cubes use 5T beef bouillon granules, 2 - 14ounce cans of Italian style stewed tomatoes, 1t black pepper, 1 1/2t Italian seasoning, and 1/4c ketchup. Wonderful flavor...a very hearty meal when combined with Parmesan Herb bread from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is a great basic recipe that lets you play around with the ingredients a bit. I made some adjustments that my family absolutely loved - even my very fussy 3 yr old. I omitted the ketchup and basil, as I'm not really fond of basil combined with beef. I instead added a dash of worchestershire sauce, 1 bay leaf, 1 tbsp dried oregano, plus some about 2 tbsps chopped fresh parsely. Additionally, for flavor, I included 2 finely diced garlic cloves and a 1/2 cup of barley. I think the barley really makes this soup really hearty and tasty, not to mention nutritious! You just add the barley in at the beginning with all the other ingredients and you're ready for a great, cozy winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPENABAUER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gonzales, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Oh, my! This is so good! Quite possibly the BEST vegatable soup I've ever had. All did different was add some ground pepper. Served this with French Bread Rolls To Die For from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
What's really nice about Hamburger Soup is that you can subtract or add any ingredient that you wish. I use cubed potato, and add the liquid from the canned veggies, use low-salt beef broth, make a bouquet garnii with bay leaf, oregano, rosemary, dill weed(use in place of salt), and whatever else you desire. Add heat, or not, and it still will come out delicious and satisfying. Make the soup your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This is really great, but I was out of basil and subbed marjoram and I actually think it may be better this way. 1 tsp of salt is too much though, once you figure in the salt from the broth and the tomato sauce. I did 1/2 tsp and it was fine. I also added 1 tsp of black pepper and three small cloves of garlic. I was out of celery, so a tbsp. of celery flakes was fine. To make up for the lack of veggie chunks, I did a full 16 oz of shoepeg corn. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I was looking for my Grandma's traditional soup, and this is it! It's so easy and you can let it go in a crockpot all day if you feel like it. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Most Excellent recipe. I've made this a few times and always always make it to a T, but this last time. I did one change not meaning to all by accident. Hubby brought home tomato sauce and diced tomatoes that were seasoned with garlic, oregano and basil. And was worried that I'd over power it with the added dried basil in the recipe, but as a result...it didn't. Hubby said it was by far the best batch of Hamburger Soup yet. So I'm shining my apple on my shoulder so to speak and going to keep doing it with the seasoned tomatoes and sauce....yumm-O. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This is the most amazing soup ever. Simple to make and soooo simple to eat! Thanks for sharing with us :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilove2jog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States