Hamburger Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2000
This is a really good soup. Hearty flavor and filling. I sometimes add peas or bean in addition to or instead of the corn. Worth the cooking time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
I've renamed this "Water Soup". Think I'll try the other recipes for hamburger soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
this has already become a standard in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
We served it for a group luncheon and everyone loved it. Nothing but rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
GreaT ReCipE! It's REALLY EASY to make. A really real heart warmer. I'm 13 and even I can make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
I made this exactly as stated the first time and found it a bit bland. The second time I added two cloves of garlic, used 28 oz. diced tomatoes and 14 oz. tomato sauce, 4 c. beef broth, 1 c. mushrooms and 1 c. peas and it made a huge difference - everything else was the same. I have also tried this once with ground bison and it was fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
280 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
This is an excellent basic soup. After reading the reviews I decided to make it heartier with a little more flavor. I left out the celery, added 14 ounce can of kidney beans, instead of bouillon cubes use 5T beef bouillon granules, 2 - 14ounce cans of Italian style stewed tomatoes, 1t black pepper, 1 1/2t Italian seasoning, and 1/4c ketchup. Wonderful flavor...a very hearty meal when combined with Parmesan Herb bread from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I made this tonight for dinner as a last minute kind of a thing and wasn't disappointed with how it turned out. I did make a few changes though: sauteed a tsp of minced garlic with the onions and celery in a tsp of olive oil then added the rest of the ingredients. I also added a tsp of thyme and 1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper along with the basil. I didn't have tomato sauce so I left that out and added more water. I also threw in a can of dark kidney beans and used a can of corn (both undrained) and used probably twice as much ketchup to add a little more tomato taste. During the last 20 min of cooking I added 3/4 cup of macaroni and served each the soup in bowls topped with shredded parmesan. It had a little bit of everything, but I like soup like that and it still went over well with my kids. I didn't have time for homemade bread so instead made homemade pumpkin apple muffins from this site and there were no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
My 2 children love this soup. When the weather starts to cool down my 7-year old "begs" me to make it. And now that is old enough she helps me measure all the ingrediants for the soup. My whole family loves it for gatherings. I made a huge hit with it Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
This soup was very tasty. I did make a few changes though. I omitted the celery and added a package of frozen peas instead. The diced tomatoes and tomato sauce I used were preflavored with basil and onion. I also added 2 teaspoons of Paul Prudhomme's Meat Seasoning. I let it simer for 2 and a half hours so it was nice and thick when I served it. My husband loved this soup. I will be making this on a regular basis this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States