Hamburger Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2000
This is a really good soup. Hearty flavor and filling. I sometimes add peas or bean in addition to or instead of the corn. Worth the cooking time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
I've renamed this "Water Soup". Think I'll try the other recipes for hamburger soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
this has already become a standard in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
We served it for a group luncheon and everyone loved it. Nothing but rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
GreaT ReCipE! It's REALLY EASY to make. A really real heart warmer. I'm 13 and even I can make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
I made this exactly as stated the first time and found it a bit bland. The second time I added two cloves of garlic, used 28 oz. diced tomatoes and 14 oz. tomato sauce, 4 c. beef broth, 1 c. mushrooms and 1 c. peas and it made a huge difference - everything else was the same. I have also tried this once with ground bison and it was fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
This is an excellent basic soup. After reading the reviews I decided to make it heartier with a little more flavor. I left out the celery, added 14 ounce can of kidney beans, instead of bouillon cubes use 5T beef bouillon granules, 2 - 14ounce cans of Italian style stewed tomatoes, 1t black pepper, 1 1/2t Italian seasoning, and 1/4c ketchup. Wonderful flavor...a very hearty meal when combined with Parmesan Herb bread from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I made this tonight for dinner as a last minute kind of a thing and wasn't disappointed with how it turned out. I did make a few changes though: sauteed a tsp of minced garlic with the onions and celery in a tsp of olive oil then added the rest of the ingredients. I also added a tsp of thyme and 1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper along with the basil. I didn't have tomato sauce so I left that out and added more water. I also threw in a can of dark kidney beans and used a can of corn (both undrained) and used probably twice as much ketchup to add a little more tomato taste. During the last 20 min of cooking I added 3/4 cup of macaroni and served each the soup in bowls topped with shredded parmesan. It had a little bit of everything, but I like soup like that and it still went over well with my kids. I didn't have time for homemade bread so instead made homemade pumpkin apple muffins from this site and there were no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
My 2 children love this soup. When the weather starts to cool down my 7-year old "begs" me to make it. And now that is old enough she helps me measure all the ingrediants for the soup. My whole family loves it for gatherings. I made a huge hit with it Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
This soup was very tasty. I did make a few changes though. I omitted the celery and added a package of frozen peas instead. The diced tomatoes and tomato sauce I used were preflavored with basil and onion. I also added 2 teaspoons of Paul Prudhomme's Meat Seasoning. I let it simer for 2 and a half hours so it was nice and thick when I served it. My husband loved this soup. I will be making this on a regular basis this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States