Hamburger Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
It was good. Makes a lot. I won't add the salt next time - there was plenty of salt in the broth already. Also, I added some left over cabbage but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This is pretty good! I needed a soup for a church potluck and wanted to use some of the ground meat in my freezer. I followed the recipe almost exactly. My changes: as another reviewer did, I substituted the basil for marjoram, though I'm sure the basil would be just as delicious. I also used ground elk instead of the beef (I often substitute venison of some variety for beef in recipes; my family and I love it) and Organic Low Sodium Better Than Bouillon Beef Base for the beef bouillon cubes. My children were asking what smelled so good while it simmered. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Very good flavor! I substituted turkey burger and was worried it would be too bland, but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was a big hit! I used organic "better than bouillon" beef base instead of the cubes, and matchstix carrots to make it easier. I made it last week and my husband already wants it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This is comfort food!!! I cooked mine in the crock pot on low for 6 hours. The smells were wonderful. I was concerned about 1 C. of celery but it tuned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I've got my whole family hooked on this soup. So simple yet so good. I omitted the corn, added some garlic and parsley and Worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
i loved it. I added a few extra things though. i added all ingredients except diced tomatos and i added two cloves of garlic (and i sauted the onion and garlic in light butter before i added them), i added only half the corn and added chopped broccoli. i simmered the soup for about half an hour and added chopped cabbage and cooked for another hour. it was delicious i already added this to my recipe book, thanks for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I really thought of chili with this soup so I added black beans, Worcestershire sauce, brown sugar, chili powder, and minced garlic. I served it with sour cream, shredded cheese and green onions with garlic bread and everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I added a teaspoon of Penzy's dried garlic and a tablespoon of fresh lemon juice which I think really changed the soup into a masterpiece. It added a subtle clean flavor that I think was unexpected but somehow lightened and complimented the other flavors. Three thumbs up from teenage boys and hungry husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wondermom
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Auntielinn
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This was close to the soup my mom would make as we grew up. I'm in my 50's now. The only thing different is that she would brown the hamburger with the onions in a skillet and start the veggies that needed cooking in the water/beef bouillion in the stock pot. When the meat/onions were cooked, she would drain the meat and add it to the stock pot. Then season the pot of soup. She also would look into the fridge for any "left over" veggies that could go into the pot. I could honestly eat this everyday with a few crackers. Hearty and delicious and inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States