Hamburger Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I liked the basics of this cleaned out the fridge added kidney beans 1/2 cup of spicey ketchup, part of a jar of leftover speghetti sauce several cloves of garlic, pepper basil and two cans 14 oz of Italian spiced tomatoes, doubled the onion and add the corn in half, also from reviews tossed 1 cup of pasta 1/2 he before serving and left the liquids the same approximately., was very hearty for a -38 day thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Turcotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Awesome recipe. Very easy to make. This was perfect for the cold weather nights. I only added mushrooms and tomato paste instead of tomato sauce. Served with Jiffy cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Simple & yummy! I had made a beef soup previously that my husband loves but can't find the recipe so looked for a similar one to try. This one was pretty close. I did make some changes, added 2 cloves of fresh minced garlic, a bay leaf, macaroni noodles & extra water & boullion (organic "Better than Boullion"). We are trying to eat mostly organic and/or non-gmo, this recipe was pretty easy to sub organic ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I liked that it only took a few minutes to prepare, and cooks up in a reasonably short amount of time. The whole family really enjoyed it, picky eaters and all....very flavorful and almost borders on being a "comfort food" but can't quite put my finger on why! Rather than beef broth, I used some homemade chicken broth from the freezer that I had on hand. Because it was lacking salt, I added a tablespoon or so of "Better than Bullion" - Beef. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Korpak Bechtel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Very tasty, hearty soup. Very easy to put together and my whole family loved it. I used beef broth and canned shoe peg corn because that's what I had on hand. It's great the next day too! I'e made it a few times and will add it as one of my often made meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Brought back memories of when Mom used to make hamburger soup. I tweaked it a bit and added a tomato-basil bisque soup, and a can of creamed corn because I didn't have frozen corn. I didn't add as much water to make a thicker soup. I added no ketchup and no salt. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
It was good. Makes a lot. I won't add the salt next time - there was plenty of salt in the broth already. Also, I added some left over cabbage but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This is pretty good! I needed a soup for a church potluck and wanted to use some of the ground meat in my freezer. I followed the recipe almost exactly. My changes: as another reviewer did, I substituted the basil for marjoram, though I'm sure the basil would be just as delicious. I also used ground elk instead of the beef (I often substitute venison of some variety for beef in recipes; my family and I love it) and Organic Low Sodium Better Than Bouillon Beef Base for the beef bouillon cubes. My children were asking what smelled so good while it simmered. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Very good flavor! I substituted turkey burger and was worried it would be too bland, but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was a big hit! I used organic "better than bouillon" beef base instead of the cubes, and matchstix carrots to make it easier. I made it last week and my husband already wants it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States