Hamburger Sarah Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
I was dissapointed with this one... The hamburger mixture was very wet and the burgers did not hold up well on the grill. They were so soft and mushy they fell apart when trying to turn them. I like ketchup, but this was way too much as it overpowered the hamburgers. After grilling 2 hamburgers as a "test" and it did not work out very well, we added more flour and some cracker crumbs to the remaining meat mixture and tried to grill it. The second batch turned out better, but we ended up throwing away nearly all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
Try coating the burgers in some beaten egg and then roll in breadcrumbs before grilling. Also, the Australian name for 'yeast extract spread' is Vegemite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Agreed on the "yeast extract." Everybody should beat up on Kraft to introduce Vegamite -- preferably in the 500 gram bottle -- to the North American market. I only get it when a friend visits Oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I made this for my family they all loved it so much i"ll defenitely make this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
No matter how hard I tried, I could not get this hamburg to firm up enough to cook. I added another 1/2 cp flour and 1/2 cp oatmeal and it was still a sticky mush. Cut the ketchup down to 1/4 cp and bbq sauce down to a few tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I halved this recipe to get 2 nice burgers, but what I got was a sticky gooey mess that would not set no matter how I tried. I added flour, more flour and still more flour to no avail. These ended up down the garbage disposal and we had soup for dinner. This was a total waste of good ground beef. It was so bad, I couldn't even take a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. Way too much ketchup and BBQ sauce and not nearly enough flour. I don't know if maybe the yeast extract spread holds them together better, but if it does, the "optional" should be removed. Altogether, this was a horrible recipe and a complete waste of my ingredients and ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Every now and then I like to try a recipe that has not had good reviews and, occasionally, I do find a winner. Sorry to say that wasn’t the case this time. I read the reviews about the beef patties being too wet, so I cut the catsup and the barbecue sauce in half, and added more flour. I cooked these on the grill and had a disaster on my hands because they just fell apart and through the grate. I’m giving this recipe 2 stars only because what I was able to salvage actually tasted pretty good, sort of like meat loaf. BUT if I want meat loaf, I’ll turn to one of my meat loaf recipes. I’m not going to try to tweak this recipe so that it works, rather, I’m just moving on. Seriously, I think this recipe has major flaws as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Best Hamburger Ever

See how to make juicy grilled burgers loaded with good stuff.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States