Hamburger Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
I tasted this soup after simmering for about a 1/2 hr and it just tasted like water. I added chili powder, garlic, and beef base and it turned out great! Without beef base there's nothing really to give it any flavor so that's an important ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This was great with modifications. I used 6 cups of water & 3 beef bouillon cubes as the base. Also added drained and rinsed kidney beans, 1 can corn, and sea shell pasta. Also used tomato puree'. REAL tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This was so good! It was so easy to make& so filling, it really hit the spot. My husband and 2 year old daughter ate it up. I did add seasoning salt to the hamburger while I was cooking it, and a can of corn, and reduced the regular salt to 3 tsp. I will be making this again. Great recipe! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AHP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
This soup was FANTASTIC! I followed the recipe and made 2 changes: 1) I used 3 tsp of Hawaiian salt, I believe it's equivalent to sea salt. 2)I used 6 cups of beef broth (low sodium) instead of water. After letting it simmer for about 1 1/2 hr, I added 2 c. of cooked rice. It kinda tastes like beef stew (watered down). My family loved it, especially my 9 & 3 year. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
Very tasty. I cooked the beef in a little worchestershire sauce and added a few more seasonings during the simmering. But wow! Very very tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
My husband loved this soup. I substituted 1 large (28 oz.)can crushed tomatoes for the diced tomatoes. I used 4 cups of water instead of 6. I used less than half of the salt and substituted hot chili powder for the rest. This is a great meal for a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
Absolutely excellent recipe. :) My husband and I added 1/2 tsp of chili powder, 1 tsp of garlic salt, 1 tsp of beef boulion powder, and 2 tbsp of sugar. It was delicious and we'll be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This easy recipe was a good base to jump off of for a great recipe! After reading some of the other reviews- I threw in an onion, celery & garlic with my hamburger while it browned. After I drained the meat, I added beef soup base to the water since I didnt have any beef broth. For spices I added some chili powder, pepper, garlic powder & a bay leaf. I didnt add any extra salt, since there is plenty in the beef base. This turned out to be a great recipe, better yet with some crusty bread!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Billie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Very, very yummy! Way too much salt called for. Use only about 1/3 of what's called for. Also, I tripled the amount of rice. Next time I think I will add more vegetables. Green beans, corn, fresh greens, and turnip would all be good in this. I doubled the recipe to have some to freeze for later. It froze very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I made this last night before I headed out for the night so that my family would be fed. It was a really easy recipe but the taste was only okay. I used celery instead of carrots only b/c I didn't have any carrots left, added seasoning salt while browning the meat AND when I added the 6 cups water (which I needed all 6c or else my soup would have been REALLY thick) I added some chili/onion & garlic powders to taste. Despite all that, the recipe was somewhat bland...not bad..just a little bland for my taste. My boyfriend claims to have really liked it but no one else gave rave reviews for this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States