Hamburger Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This was so good! It was so easy to make& so filling, it really hit the spot. My husband and 2 year old daughter ate it up. I did add seasoning salt to the hamburger while I was cooking it, and a can of corn, and reduced the regular salt to 3 tsp. I will be making this again. Great recipe! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AHP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
Great, easy soup!!! I found this recipe while looking for something to make with ground beef and a few cups of left over rice. It turned out great. I waited til the soup was about 15 minutes from being done to add the cooked rice. I also added a can of corn. My son who doesn't usually eat vegtable soup scarfed this one down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TISFEMIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
My husband loved this soup. I substituted 1 large (28 oz.)can crushed tomatoes for the diced tomatoes. I used 4 cups of water instead of 6. I used less than half of the salt and substituted hot chili powder for the rest. This is a great meal for a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I made this last night before I headed out for the night so that my family would be fed. It was a really easy recipe but the taste was only okay. I used celery instead of carrots only b/c I didn't have any carrots left, added seasoning salt while browning the meat AND when I added the 6 cups water (which I needed all 6c or else my soup would have been REALLY thick) I added some chili/onion & garlic powders to taste. Despite all that, the recipe was somewhat bland...not bad..just a little bland for my taste. My boyfriend claims to have really liked it but no one else gave rave reviews for this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
Absolutely excellent recipe. :) My husband and I added 1/2 tsp of chili powder, 1 tsp of garlic salt, 1 tsp of beef boulion powder, and 2 tbsp of sugar. It was delicious and we'll be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
This soup was FANTASTIC! I followed the recipe and made 2 changes: 1) I used 3 tsp of Hawaiian salt, I believe it's equivalent to sea salt. 2)I used 6 cups of beef broth (low sodium) instead of water. After letting it simmer for about 1 1/2 hr, I added 2 c. of cooked rice. It kinda tastes like beef stew (watered down). My family loved it, especially my 9 & 3 year. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
I too made a few changes and this soup tasted wonderful!! I used 5 beef boullion cubes and the full 6 cups of water. I also added garlic and extra spices when cooking the ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
I tasted this soup after simmering for about a 1/2 hr and it just tasted like water. I added chili powder, garlic, and beef base and it turned out great! Without beef base there's nothing really to give it any flavor so that's an important ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
Very tasty. I cooked the beef in a little worchestershire sauce and added a few more seasonings during the simmering. But wow! Very very tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Good basic beef soup recipe. Didn't have carrots or potatoes, sub'd corn. Added black beans (drained) and garlic. Added 2 cups of cooked rice towards the end, so I lessened some of the water. Added a couple of different spices within reach of the stove. =) Will be modifying and eating this more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States