Hamburger Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This was really good soup, I did make it more to my family's taste by adding a bit of salsa to the broth, and added half water and half beef broth. The meat I used was the hamburger patties I had left over from a BBQ. I omitted the potatoes since I don't like too many starchy food in my dish and I thought the rice was enough. I have a interesting tip on how to measure the rice according to the # of folks you'll be serving: "a fist full of rice per person" don't try to grab too much rice only what a comfortable grip can give you unless you like a lot of rice. I will make again--- a great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This recipe brings back memories. It is amazingly similar to what my mother served us on a pretty consistent basis when I was growing up. She would use whatever meat was leftover if fresh ground beef wasn't available. I omit the rice, (hubby is opposed to rice in any kind of soup) and add chopped cabbage, subbing chopped carrots for the corn. For a flavor change, and lower fat version I have substituted ground turkey for the beef. And with a little more seasoning, it is quite tasty. With the addition of the cabbage, it turns out almost like a stew. A fast nurtitious meal that everyone loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinkerbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Has way too much salt in it. I would also suggest using just the potatoes or just the rice (adding more than called for) instead of both starches to make this healthier. If using the rice, use brown rice rather than white. Needs more flavor. Dump in some chili powder to your taste and don't add salt at all because chili powder has lots of salt in it. Or use other herbs. There is just no flavor in this expect the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
i loved this soup it is easy and just hit the spot .my husband also lovedit .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bigdog
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Very Good! I also used 5 bouillon cubes, more rice and substituted corn and lima beans for carrots. With the added rice, it turned out very hearty and very tasty with the added bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Paxton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alyson
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
It was most likely all my altering that did it, but I didn't think this soup had any flavor at all. I added a can of corn and a handful of frozen peas, I also used less hamburger than the recipe called for. I tasted it about 15 mins before it was finished and thought it was completely plain, so I had to add a stock cube. Once I did that, it tasted quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Hammondsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I made this soup using tomato juice instead of canned tomatoes, and it came out beautifully. A great soup for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I added 3 beef bullioun cubes, as well as some shakes from the garlic powder can. This wasn't very flavorful at all. I can't imagine just using unseasoned water, as the recipe calls for. The soup was bland even with my spice additions. I don't care for this. Bland. Plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This was a pretty good recipe. Instead of just the plain ground beef I used leftover meatloaf that I had. This gave it a nice twist. I also added a beef bouillon cube like priors reviewers stated. It was an easy recipe and I already had everything on hand so no trips the grocery store for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This was great with modifications. I used 6 cups of water & 3 beef bouillon cubes as the base. Also added drained and rinsed kidney beans, 1 can corn, and sea shell pasta. Also used tomato puree'. REAL tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States