Hamburger Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I gave this four stars because had I not followed suggestions of other reviewers I don't think it would have turned out as well. I added 3 beef bouillan cubes, a small can of tomato paste, a can of green beans(drained), parsley, garlic powder, and minced onion because I didn't have any onion on hand. I also substituted one can of stewed tomotoes for one can of the diced and added almost a cup of rice. This was really good with the changes and even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
holy goodness i tell you! very very good IMO , i changed a few things based on my taste buds but honestly the base and herbs are key. AND MOST IMPORTANT the longer the simmering the better it shall be! great recipe for a normally boring beef nite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
FINALLY! A new dish that my picky son likes. I used the beef broth instead of water and added more rice. The reason I rated it with 4 stars is it was very good overall. I give 5 stars for recipes that are great. We will make again. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
My Family loves this! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Tasted like water with vegtables. Would try to make again maybe by adding differnt liquids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Reid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Really good and hearty! I add a little more rice and water for a ricier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
It was very bland. Even after adding spices it wasn't that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
My husband and I made a pot of this before Hurricane Ike hit south Louisiana. It was delicious! I don't think my husband usually goes for soup, but he kept saying how good this soup tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erath, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I thought this was really good. I used Yves Ground "Meat" (a vegetarian soy meat) which turned out really well in this. I don't cook anything without garlic, so I added a good heaping TBL of minced garlic to the soup. I used one can of vegetable broth and 1 beef bouillon in about 2 cups of water. I used a can of diced tomatoes that I threw in the blender before adding to make it a smoother consistency. Basil and Chili powder were also added. I cooked this for about 45 mins until the potatoes were tender. Thanks for the recipe- I never would have thought to use ground meat in a soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was so simple to make and delicious. I used a can of tomatoes with green chiles because we like a little zip in our food. When I warmed it up and it needed a little more broth I added a small can of tomato sause. You could also make this with ground turkey which I plan to do for health reasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulette Bender
Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States