Hamburger Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
A great base for someone just learning to cook. I cut the recipe in half and used turkey hot dogs instead of ground beef, and also added celery, chili powder, chicken bouillon, corn and garlic. Used a half cup of rice, and ended up having to add a cup of water after simmering for 40 minutes. It has great flavor, and is definitely a recipe to be experimented with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
We just finished eating, and loved the soup! My husband and I are college students, so we enjoy dinners that are delicious, but not expensive as well. After reading other user's comments, I decided to change the recipe to make it my own (as well as be flexible with the ingredients, since I do not have some of them). I changed it like so: -Saute the onions, all the way through(until they look clear) -Brown the ground beef in the same pan (keep the onions in the pan)-the flavors will mix together nicely -Add Worchestershire sauce to the beef/onions after the beef is fully browned. -Use 6 cups beef bouillon instead of water. -I boiled my potatoes first, then added them to the whole mix in the end. -I don't own diced tomatoes or carrots, so I didn't use them. -Add one can of corn, plus some frozen mixed vegetables, if you are in need of veggies (like us college students are.) -I also added more Worchestershire sauce to the soup after I mixed everything in, to give a nice flavor to not only the beef, but the broth as well. -2 teaspoons of salt. No more is needed. -I like pepper, so I added 1 teaspoon. -Stir and Let sit 5 minutes to allow flavors to settle. When serving, we decided to change things more by putting cooked rice in our bowl first, then put the soup on top. This allows the soup to stretch A LOT farther, if you're on a tight budget like us. (Rice is cheap!) Now we have twice the amount of leftovers, which makes for an easy meal when we're on the run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Try adding some green pepper. This has all the flavor components of Hamburger Rice Pie, which is great. I didn't try this soup as it is, but I'm sure it's good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
We like gsrlic so I added some garlic powder to it. My husband doesn't like it when I try out new stuff but he liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Very good soup! The only thing I changed was that I added beef bouillion to the water since some of the reviews said it tasted too watery. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This is an old time favorite! I thought this recipe was pretty good. I also added 2 cups diced celery, 1/2 t. basil and 2 bay leaf for the finishing touch,which made this recipe a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley VW

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Huntington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I gave only 4 star because I had to make changes. With the changes it was wonderful. I seasoned the meat with salt and garlic but didn't add any more salt to the soup. I blended the diced tomatoes more from preference. I also used 4 cups of beef broth, 3/4c of dry red wine, and only 1 1/4c of water instead of the six cups of water. Because I didn't have any potatoes and my husband is allergic to onions I added corn and doubled the rice. It smelled wonderful while cooking and tasted even better. However without the broth and wine I don't believe I would have liked it. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This easy recipe was a good base to jump off of for a great recipe! After reading some of the other reviews- I threw in an onion, celery & garlic with my hamburger while it browned. After I drained the meat, I added beef soup base to the water since I didnt have any beef broth. For spices I added some chili powder, pepper, garlic powder & a bay leaf. I didnt add any extra salt, since there is plenty in the beef base. This turned out to be a great recipe, better yet with some crusty bread!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Billie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I gave this four stars because had I not followed suggestions of other reviewers I don't think it would have turned out as well. I added 3 beef bouillan cubes, a small can of tomato paste, a can of green beans(drained), parsley, garlic powder, and minced onion because I didn't have any onion on hand. I also substituted one can of stewed tomotoes for one can of the diced and added almost a cup of rice. This was really good with the changes and even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
holy goodness i tell you! very very good IMO , i changed a few things based on my taste buds but honestly the base and herbs are key. AND MOST IMPORTANT the longer the simmering the better it shall be! great recipe for a normally boring beef nite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States