Hamburger Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I made this for my husband and myself last night, because the snow we got on the weekend put me in a "comfort-food" mood. Like others, I added extra seasonings to suit our tastes. I sauteed fresh mushrooms and the onions with the meat, and added three crushed garlic cloves and a tablespoon of Minor's beef broth concentrate. I also covered the casserole for the first hour, which kept it nice and moist and helped the potatoes cook properly. I then removed the lid for 15 minutes, which helped set up the dish nicely. Last, I didn't add any cheese at all, and didn't miss it. I felt that cheese would only make it greasy and heavier than I would have been able to stand. Granted, it's not gourmet, but it was created with kids in mind, after all. It was definitely something I'll make again when I feel like comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
This was so good and much easier than shepherds pie- and with alot less mess. I did add a layer of green beans and added a few more seasonings to the meat as it cooked. I used some garlic, basil and paprika which made it flavourful. It was a big hit with my family and i will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
Wow! A recipe from "yesteryear." Add some baby carrots and you have what we used to call "College Casserole" - for obvious reasons - you can increase the recipe and feed all your hungry classmates. Also after graduation, you can fix this and feel all your friends who are still looking for jobs - inexpensive and very good! Thanks so much for sharing this. I had forgotten the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledonia, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2001
I prepared this recipe as written, added a can of creamed corn, and layered the ingrdeients in a crockpot. It cooked on LOW all afternoon and was delicious, no fuss, & didn't heat up my already warm house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
If this recipe had had more seasonings listed, I definitely would have give it four stars, however, as written, it would have been very, very bland; at least for our taste. I added garlic and onion powders, a half of an envelope of dried onion soup mix, a small can of mild green chilies and a pinch of cayenne. We thought it was really good and I'll definitely make this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Hubby says this one is a keeper! I used cream of celery, 1 can mushrooms, small can of green chilies, garlic salt, parsley flakes, and added grated monterey jack to the sauce. I covered it but I think it you would just end up with sauce as last layer, it would dry out a little more. I put cheddar cheese on last 15 minutes, let it rest for 15 minutes out of the oven to set up. Easy and adapts well to what I had on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This turned out a lot better than other "poor-man" style hamburger casseroles I've tried. I added some garlic powder to the soup mixture to liven it up a bit, but I was overzealous and overspiced it, so I thinned it out with some extra milk and a heaping tablespoon of mayonnaise, which worked well, as there was a perfect amount of sauce. I also added about 3/4 cup each of sliced carrot and celery to the sauce. I probably put more than the recomended amount of cheese on, too; I did't measure. Another thing was the recipe didn't specify whether or not to cover; it's definately one to cover! This will go on my recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fujiko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
This was a great casserole. My husband said, "this is really delicious" after all three helpings. I added some sour cream to the soup & milk which gave it a richer flavor. I forgot to add salt & pepper but we didn't even miss it. I baked it for 1 1/2 hours and the potatoes were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
This was awesome. The flavors combined together perfectly, and it was great comfort food. I used 50% more cheese- I used white extra sharp cheddar. I've made it three times since!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2001
Made this last night - added onion and a can of mushrooms to the ground beef when browning it. Really enjoyed it, easy and tasted very good. Nice comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERS98

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States