Hamburger Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This is a great base recipe that can handle a lot of variation. I didn't have cream of mushroom, so I used cream of chicken plus a quarter of a bag of french onion soup mix (I chickened out, it could have used much more). I used about 3 and a half medium/large Yukon gold potatoes, sliced on my mandolin to 1.5mm. It cooked perfectly in 1 hr. Like others I also browned my meat with garlic and onions. I served it with sour cream on top instead of in the sauce so people could use as much or as little as they like. It was good and simple enough to put together, I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
The first time I made this I followed the recipe exactly. The potatoes, though thinly sliced took forever to cook. The second time I sliced them and boiled them before adding to the casserole. I also added a can of Rotele and that gave it a little bit more flavor. Overall great recipe, especially for cold days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I gave the recipe 3 stars because I did add a few things which I'm sure made it more tastier! With my additions I would've easily given it 5 stars. My husband didn't even add salt and pepper - something he does almost automatically with almost everything! What I did: Sauteed a can of mushrooms and 2 cloves minced garlic along with the already called for onion when I was browning the meat. Added approx. 1 tablespoon garlic powder, a bit more salt and pepper, and a few dashes of cayenne pepper. Covered the dish with foil and baked for an hour. Then I took it out of the oven and sprinkled on the cheese. The cheese melted while I opened a can of refrigerator biscuits, split them in half, and placed them on top of the cheese. Then back in the oven for an additional 15 minutes or until the biscuits were done... all I can say is YUM. Definitely will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSJULIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
My wife can't eat canned soups, so I made a bechamel sauce and threw in some cheddar as a substitute. I tried pre-boiling the potatoes, but they were sliced thin on a mandolin and became too brittle after just 7 minutes. Probably better just to let it cook 2+ hours if needed. I made an extra layer with frozen mixed veggies. This was a big hit and reheated nicely in the microwave. We'll definitely do it again. Just remember - respect the mandolin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fly by Light

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I mixed the soup, salt, pepper, and milk in with the drained, browned ground beef and onions in the skillet so didn't need to dirty a mixing bowl. I followed the list of ingredients but next time will add more seasonings as others suggested. I covered with foil until I added the cheese. I also like the suggestion of mixing additional cheese in with the casserole as well as on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Yummy! Everyone in my house loved this! Which is rare. I used instant mashed potatoes tho because i don't like the taste of the tubs of mashed potatoes. Next time i will also use canned green beans, my hubby prefers those over frozen bc he like them mushy. Great receipe. Maybe i will make this again this week....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This was just okay. It's a little bland, but a good recipe to start with and make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This is a good recipe for what it basically is. Added onion and garlic to the browning of the hamburger, added about a half cup of sour cream to the soup, as well as about a 1/2 cup of beef broth, and some Alfredo sauce. It made it very creamy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Okay so I am giving this one 5 stars. Not that I really loved it..but my family did!! Maybe it was just one of those nights for me..but my husband and grandson went nuts over this!!! They left nothing for leftovers or lunch for tomorrow..thats a great sign!!! Thanks I will make this again for them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Great comfort food casserole! I took the advice of prior posters and cooked the potatoes in the microwave beforehand to cut off some oven baking time. I also subbed Morningstar Farms Veggie Ground Crumbles in place of ground beef and used taco seasoning in the "meat." Very tasty! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulianaDentata

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States