Hamburger Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Made this vegetarian by using Morningstar Farms Crumbles instead of ground beef. Also took reveiewers' suggestions and modified it - this is a great recipe b/c it welcomes changes! Used frozen hash browns b/c I had them and don't usually eat them and hoped this would make them taste better. It did! Used yogurt with the mushroom soup along with some fresh and dried herbs - thyme, oregano, basil, parsley. Mozzarella on top and snuck a little in between the layers. Also added a minced fresh jalapeño but it was totally lost in the end. Sautéed carrots with the onions and garlic, then added the crumbles. Layered as written in a crockpot and was done in 2hrs on high. Fab comfort food, easy and perfect for a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
My family thought is was very good, I added garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Great recipe would be five stars but as many reviewers noted it needs much more seasoning. Even after I took others advice and added more seasoning it still needed more. I will make this again but will season more aggresively.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Thia was good - as per other reviews (needed more flavor), I added a couple tablespoons of worchestershire to ground beef, onion, 2 cloves minced garlic, and shredded carrot mixture, and to the soup mixture added a pinch of nutmeg. Baked uncovered at 300 for over 1 hour, topped with cheese and baked 15 min. I will definitely make this again with my additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tastytaters

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Stumbled upon this for an easy and yummy weekday meal that used what I had on hand. As written I feel like it would have been a little bland so I added my own flair! I added garlic and onion powder and celery salt to the ground beef while I browned it. I also added red chili flakes to the soup mixture because my husband and I love spicy! I used red potatoes which I'm not sure makes a difference and I also chose not to peel them (unnecessary as far as I'm concerned.) I used half cheddar cheese and half part skim mozzarella to cut out a little bit of fat. Turned out great! Very delicious and easy! My husband and our friends loved it. Sometimes simple comfort food is just what you need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I loved this. Easy, plus my toddlers loved it, which means total score in my house. Only thing I did was instead of Cream of Mushroom soup I used Cream of Onion because my husband is allergic to mushrooms. Plus I added Garlic seasoning. It was Great !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
So there I was w 2/3# cooked ground beef,& potatoes to use.I did the ingredient search (love that!)&,after looking@scallloped potatoes& hamburger,&jiffy casserole,I decided to go for this one pretty much.This is one of those norecipeneeded recipes,but since there is one ya look. :D It's one we've all had.It comes together fast&tastes like it's more than it is.I thinly sliced four unpeeled potatoes&used half can skim milk.I mixed together everything except the potatoes (& cheese,which I forgot :O :D).That&added3/4t salt, 1/4t pepper&garlic,1/2t worcestershire&onion powder(already sliced the tatoes sooo...no fresh this time).Don't use a deep dish on this one - or it will take forever - &leave some "bubbling" room unless you like cleaning your oven.I put mine in a cold oven&it took 2hours. After baking,I sprinkled with some cheese, paprika & parsley.Kinda pretty & it was eaten by the 14yr old boy.Yay!This really does taste better than it sounds&is an inexpensive dinner.I avoid most "cream of" recipes&while you may know it is by the size of the tiny mushrooms,you might not by the flavor.I'm keeping this one.2/13 Added half envelope onion soup mix&cream for milk.Covered about an hour starting w a cold oven.Returned w oven off for maybe 20 - time to thicken, set.Out&then a little parmesan&paprika. 8/13This is good with reduced fat ground pork&cream of chicken soup,too.And,no matter how thin those potatoes are,it's going to be at least an hour before dinner - a little 411. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I changed this up quite a bit but it was really good for a quick dinner. I used 1lb beef cooked with taco seasoning and a can of corn, 1.5 lb baby potatoes sliced, cream of mushroom soup, onion soup mix, 1/2 cup beef broth, & 1/4 cup sour cream. Instead of layering the sauce, I mixed it in with the cooked ground beef mixture and layered that with the potatoes. Very easy! Next time I would also add green chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I added some corn... made it like a glorified Shepherd's Pie... Oh so delicious..! Was a huge hit in my house :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Made this tonight and my husband and i loved it. Took 10 minutes to put together....great receipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States