Hamburger Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I made this for my husband and myself last night, because the snow we got on the weekend put me in a "comfort-food" mood. Like others, I added extra seasonings to suit our tastes. I sauteed fresh mushrooms and the onions with the meat, and added three crushed garlic cloves and a tablespoon of Minor's beef broth concentrate. I also covered the casserole for the first hour, which kept it nice and moist and helped the potatoes cook properly. I then removed the lid for 15 minutes, which helped set up the dish nicely. Last, I didn't add any cheese at all, and didn't miss it. I felt that cheese would only make it greasy and heavier than I would have been able to stand. Granted, it's not gourmet, but it was created with kids in mind, after all. It was definitely something I'll make again when I feel like comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
This was so good and much easier than shepherds pie- and with alot less mess. I did add a layer of green beans and added a few more seasonings to the meat as it cooked. I used some garlic, basil and paprika which made it flavourful. It was a big hit with my family and i will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
Wow! A recipe from "yesteryear." Add some baby carrots and you have what we used to call "College Casserole" - for obvious reasons - you can increase the recipe and feed all your hungry classmates. Also after graduation, you can fix this and feel all your friends who are still looking for jobs - inexpensive and very good! Thanks so much for sharing this. I had forgotten the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledonia, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2001
I prepared this recipe as written, added a can of creamed corn, and layered the ingrdeients in a crockpot. It cooked on LOW all afternoon and was delicious, no fuss, & didn't heat up my already warm house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
If this recipe had had more seasonings listed, I definitely would have give it four stars, however, as written, it would have been very, very bland; at least for our taste. I added garlic and onion powders, a half of an envelope of dried onion soup mix, a small can of mild green chilies and a pinch of cayenne. We thought it was really good and I'll definitely make this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Hubby says this one is a keeper! I used cream of celery, 1 can mushrooms, small can of green chilies, garlic salt, parsley flakes, and added grated monterey jack to the sauce. I covered it but I think it you would just end up with sauce as last layer, it would dry out a little more. I put cheddar cheese on last 15 minutes, let it rest for 15 minutes out of the oven to set up. Easy and adapts well to what I had on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This turned out a lot better than other "poor-man" style hamburger casseroles I've tried. I added some garlic powder to the soup mixture to liven it up a bit, but I was overzealous and overspiced it, so I thinned it out with some extra milk and a heaping tablespoon of mayonnaise, which worked well, as there was a perfect amount of sauce. I also added about 3/4 cup each of sliced carrot and celery to the sauce. I probably put more than the recomended amount of cheese on, too; I did't measure. Another thing was the recipe didn't specify whether or not to cover; it's definately one to cover! This will go on my recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fujiko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
This was a great casserole. My husband said, "this is really delicious" after all three helpings. I added some sour cream to the soup & milk which gave it a richer flavor. I forgot to add salt & pepper but we didn't even miss it. I baked it for 1 1/2 hours and the potatoes were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
This was awesome. The flavors combined together perfectly, and it was great comfort food. I used 50% more cheese- I used white extra sharp cheddar. I've made it three times since!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2001
Made this last night - added onion and a can of mushrooms to the ground beef when browning it. Really enjoyed it, easy and tasted very good. Nice comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERS98

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States