Hamburger Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This was not good to me at all. I feel like the cream of mushroom has got to go as well as the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I added a splash of Worcestershire and cooked the onion with the ground beef. I also didn't layer. I just blended everything together. The whole family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Thanks to the excellent reviews on Allrecipes.com I knew that this would have been fairly bland for our tastes. Add some Louisiana-styled hot sauce, garlic and Worstershire sauce to the gravy and pre-cook the spuds in the microwave for 10 minutes. You'll have a good meal out-of-the-oven in 25-30 minutes. The addition of extra veggies would have been good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This is a great base recipe that can handle a lot of variation. I didn't have cream of mushroom, so I used cream of chicken plus a quarter of a bag of french onion soup mix (I chickened out, it could have used much more). I used about 3 and a half medium/large Yukon gold potatoes, sliced on my mandolin to 1.5mm. It cooked perfectly in 1 hr. Like others I also browned my meat with garlic and onions. I served it with sour cream on top instead of in the sauce so people could use as much or as little as they like. It was good and simple enough to put together, I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
The first time I made this I followed the recipe exactly. The potatoes, though thinly sliced took forever to cook. The second time I sliced them and boiled them before adding to the casserole. I also added a can of Rotele and that gave it a little bit more flavor. Overall great recipe, especially for cold days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I gave the recipe 3 stars because I did add a few things which I'm sure made it more tastier! With my additions I would've easily given it 5 stars. My husband didn't even add salt and pepper - something he does almost automatically with almost everything! What I did: Sauteed a can of mushrooms and 2 cloves minced garlic along with the already called for onion when I was browning the meat. Added approx. 1 tablespoon garlic powder, a bit more salt and pepper, and a few dashes of cayenne pepper. Covered the dish with foil and baked for an hour. Then I took it out of the oven and sprinkled on the cheese. The cheese melted while I opened a can of refrigerator biscuits, split them in half, and placed them on top of the cheese. Then back in the oven for an additional 15 minutes or until the biscuits were done... all I can say is YUM. Definitely will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSJULIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
My wife can't eat canned soups, so I made a bechamel sauce and threw in some cheddar as a substitute. I tried pre-boiling the potatoes, but they were sliced thin on a mandolin and became too brittle after just 7 minutes. Probably better just to let it cook 2+ hours if needed. I made an extra layer with frozen mixed veggies. This was a big hit and reheated nicely in the microwave. We'll definitely do it again. Just remember - respect the mandolin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fly by Light

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I mixed the soup, salt, pepper, and milk in with the drained, browned ground beef and onions in the skillet so didn't need to dirty a mixing bowl. I followed the list of ingredients but next time will add more seasonings as others suggested. I covered with foil until I added the cheese. I also like the suggestion of mixing additional cheese in with the casserole as well as on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Yummy! Everyone in my house loved this! Which is rare. I used instant mashed potatoes tho because i don't like the taste of the tubs of mashed potatoes. Next time i will also use canned green beans, my hubby prefers those over frozen bc he like them mushy. Great receipe. Maybe i will make this again this week....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This was just okay. It's a little bland, but a good recipe to start with and make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States