Hamburger Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Made this last night, huge hit with the whole family. My only addition was bacon that I cut up into small pieces and fried until just crisp. Put bacon aside let grease in pan, added onions for a few minutes, then added the burger. Not healthy I know but flavored the meat well. Sliced redskin new potatoes extra thin and layered everything. reserved some bacon for garnish. Added cheese on top and reserved bacon and it was a quickly put together meal (though it must bake a while to cook potatoes) that helped me use up hamburger. My 6 year old said it was her *favorite recipe*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Kids liked it, was quick and easy to make and ingredients were all on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I lost my original recipe for this, made this plenty when my children were little. The only thing my recipe called for that this one doesn't is a some cream cheese. I can't remember if it's half or a whole package, whick now sounds like alot! lol My kids loved it and it was cheap to make,we were so poor then. I would make a huge bowl so we could have leftovers. Always served it with a jello salad. Will have to try this again someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Great recipe and easy to make; all prep. I added Garlic as I do to pretty much everything and this dish received a thumbs up from my wife and kids. As many Parents know, the kid endorsement is important as many children are particular with the look and taste of the food they eat. Usually, if it looks unappetizing, then they aren't going for it. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack Tiesing Jr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This was not good to me at all. I feel like the cream of mushroom has got to go as well as the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I added a splash of Worcestershire and cooked the onion with the ground beef. I also didn't layer. I just blended everything together. The whole family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Thanks to the excellent reviews on Allrecipes.com I knew that this would have been fairly bland for our tastes. Add some Louisiana-styled hot sauce, garlic and Worstershire sauce to the gravy and pre-cook the spuds in the microwave for 10 minutes. You'll have a good meal out-of-the-oven in 25-30 minutes. The addition of extra veggies would have been good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This is a great base recipe that can handle a lot of variation. I didn't have cream of mushroom, so I used cream of chicken plus a quarter of a bag of french onion soup mix (I chickened out, it could have used much more). I used about 3 and a half medium/large Yukon gold potatoes, sliced on my mandolin to 1.5mm. It cooked perfectly in 1 hr. Like others I also browned my meat with garlic and onions. I served it with sour cream on top instead of in the sauce so people could use as much or as little as they like. It was good and simple enough to put together, I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
The first time I made this I followed the recipe exactly. The potatoes, though thinly sliced took forever to cook. The second time I sliced them and boiled them before adding to the casserole. I also added a can of Rotele and that gave it a little bit more flavor. Overall great recipe, especially for cold days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I gave the recipe 3 stars because I did add a few things which I'm sure made it more tastier! With my additions I would've easily given it 5 stars. My husband didn't even add salt and pepper - something he does almost automatically with almost everything! What I did: Sauteed a can of mushrooms and 2 cloves minced garlic along with the already called for onion when I was browning the meat. Added approx. 1 tablespoon garlic powder, a bit more salt and pepper, and a few dashes of cayenne pepper. Covered the dish with foil and baked for an hour. Then I took it out of the oven and sprinkled on the cheese. The cheese melted while I opened a can of refrigerator biscuits, split them in half, and placed them on top of the cheese. Then back in the oven for an additional 15 minutes or until the biscuits were done... all I can say is YUM. Definitely will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSJULIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 458) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States