Hamburger, Potato, and Kidney Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I chose this recipe based on its ingredients. Overall it was delicious and very satisfying. A few comments: Taste: I could tell from the recipe that if I made it as printed, it might be a bit bland. So I added garlic to the beef/onion mixture, and I also added chili powder, cumin, and garlic powder. Prep time: It took me a LOT longer than 15 minutes to prepare. I don't cook every day, but I've been cooking since I was a kid, and I am pretty comfortable with a potato peeler and chopping knife. Unless you are quite a chef, count on maybe twice as long for prep. Covering: I wish I had left it covered for more than the first hour... the top did get rather dried out. But maybe my oven is too hot. Tomato soup: This added a really good taste! But it didn't go very far. Next time I might use twice as much. This is a really wholesome recipe, and it gives you a lot of opportunity to modify it the way you like. In addition to the spices, I melted cheese on top at the end of the cooking, and I served it topped with some sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Hetrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This recipe was a huge disappointment. It has potential but needs changes; if I ever make this again, I would mix the tomato soup throughout the meat mixture since only the top had flavor and the layers below were dry. I would also coook this on a much higher setting like 425 since the potatoes were still hard after an hour of baking on 350. The only redeeming quality was the flavor on the top where the soup was poured on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie824

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This is a very good recipe. I did not have tomato soup so I used a can of tomato sauce and a can of rotel (diced tomatoes with green chilis) I am also lazy so I did not peel the potatoes. I think next time I will cook the bacon before putting it in the oven because it was just a little greasy. Over all a good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I chose to leave out the bacon.and used prepared frozen hashbrowns to save time. Added some garlic and spices and served with a dallop of cream cheese on top. It was a hit with my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
From the "author": allrecipes takes "liberties" with the recipes, which is fine but if you want it to be the way I make it... I do not cook the ground beef and onion before adding to the recipe, and the potatoes are peeled and sliced approx 3/16" thick, not diced. It goes: Mix finely chopped onion into ground beef. Put a layer of half of the sliced potatoes, then half of the ground beef/onion mixture pulled into marble sized bits and scattered over the potatoes, then half of the kidney beans with juice, then salt and pepper, repeat layers. Top with condensed tomato soup then bacon slices. Then bake as directed. Hope this helps...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I made several adjustments to the basic recipe. I used only 1 pd of hamburger. I also used 2 cans of condensed tomato soup. I used one huge can of kidney beans and one regular sized can. I melted cheese on top of the casserole toward the last 10 min of the recipe and then used the broiler for 5 min to crisp and brown the cheese. We love garlic, so I put a whole lot of that in there. I threw in a bit of chili powder and ground cayenne pepper as well. Turned out delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
This recipe was tasty and easy. I liked it because it calls for ingredients that I usually have in my house. My husband added hot sauce to his to spice it up a bit. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This recipe was very easy and delicious. I did add galic, cumin and chilli powder as some other reviews suggested. But also added diced tomato to it . Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I must diagree with the other reviews. While this recipe is great for quick prep I found it to be rather tasteless and has a very unappetizing appearance. Sorry, I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
delicious!! Although I would probably do like someone stated and that is add more tomato soup so it's not so dry. I also added cheddar cheese and fried onions instead of the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Lenoir, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States