Hamburger, Potato, and Kidney Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I made several adjustments to the basic recipe. I used only 1 pd of hamburger. I also used 2 cans of condensed tomato soup. I used one huge can of kidney beans and one regular sized can. I melted cheese on top of the casserole toward the last 10 min of the recipe and then used the broiler for 5 min to crisp and brown the cheese. We love garlic, so I put a whole lot of that in there. I threw in a bit of chili powder and ground cayenne pepper as well. Turned out delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
delicious!! Although I would probably do like someone stated and that is add more tomato soup so it's not so dry. I also added cheddar cheese and fried onions instead of the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Lenoir, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I just wanted to say I have a recipe very much the same as this one except it calls for two cans of tomato soup instead of one. That makes all the difference it is never dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I followed the instructions exactly (except adding some spices as other reviewers suggested, and I added some water) but it still turned out overly dry. I will try to modify into a crock pot recipe, because the kids LOVED it and ate second helpings. I think cooking in the crock pot might help retain some moisture. Overall, this is good comfort food for a cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This recipe was a huge disappointment. It has potential but needs changes; if I ever make this again, I would mix the tomato soup throughout the meat mixture since only the top had flavor and the layers below were dry. I would also coook this on a much higher setting like 425 since the potatoes were still hard after an hour of baking on 350. The only redeeming quality was the flavor on the top where the soup was poured on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie824

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This recipe was very easy and delicious. I did add galic, cumin and chilli powder as some other reviews suggested. But also added diced tomato to it . Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This is a good old fashioned casserole. The bacon does get a little overdone on top..maybe bake the casserole until almost done before adding the bacon on top would help. I used the leftovers as a base for breakfast omelets later in the week. Turn out really impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This is a very good recipe. I did not have tomato soup so I used a can of tomato sauce and a can of rotel (diced tomatoes with green chilis) I am also lazy so I did not peel the potatoes. I think next time I will cook the bacon before putting it in the oven because it was just a little greasy. Over all a good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
A little bland, but maybe next time I will add a little barbeque sauce to the topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Hans

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I chose this recipe based on its ingredients. Overall it was delicious and very satisfying. A few comments: Taste: I could tell from the recipe that if I made it as printed, it might be a bit bland. So I added garlic to the beef/onion mixture, and I also added chili powder, cumin, and garlic powder. Prep time: It took me a LOT longer than 15 minutes to prepare. I don't cook every day, but I've been cooking since I was a kid, and I am pretty comfortable with a potato peeler and chopping knife. Unless you are quite a chef, count on maybe twice as long for prep. Covering: I wish I had left it covered for more than the first hour... the top did get rather dried out. But maybe my oven is too hot. Tomato soup: This added a really good taste! But it didn't go very far. Next time I might use twice as much. This is a really wholesome recipe, and it gives you a lot of opportunity to modify it the way you like. In addition to the spices, I melted cheese on top at the end of the cooking, and I served it topped with some sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Hetrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States