Hamburger Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I was looking for something quick and easy to do with a pound of hamburger, so gave this a shot. I used a couple leftover half-bags of hash browns (Southern, diced style) and Campbells beef broth in the soup size can. I also added some garlic (from the jar), some cornstarch to the broth, and a bit of Worchestershire. And found that it was still utterly bland! I think I might add some shredded carrots to it for tomorrow and put it in a crust to make pasties. Top it with ketchup and I think it'll be pretty tasty! Sorry, this sounded pretty good and I didn't want to grade it too harshly because I did make a couple of substitutions/additions. On the other hand, the Southern-style hash browns were perfect for this and didn't get mushy. I put them in frozen. Just wondering if the person who used hash browns that turned to mush either used shredded potatoes, or thawed them first?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Excellant! I had a shallot instead of an onion and added a little flour to thicken the sauce. Very good, quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I took another reviewer's suggestion that using hash browns works great...it did not! The whole dish turned into complete mush. I guess I would have to of omitted the water entirely, but I didn't, I just used less. Then, when I used a bit of corn starch to thicken it - it just got mushier and the starch started to clump. I don't consider myself a novice in the kitchen so I don't know what happened to this meal. After an honest attempt to eat it, we threw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I made this with ground turkey instead of beef. The kids loved it. They could not get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Good, quick and easy. Used southern style hash brown potatoes, beef buillon, and whatever veggies I had in the freezer. Kids ate it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Donnelly, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Redfield, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Very nice recipe, my only change was to add a package of dry onion soup mix for the flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
would have given it 5 stars but i made some additions. added worchestershire, garlic from a jar, kernel corn and beef broth in a tetra pak. love it, love it, love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This was definitely a crowd pleaser! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Took this recipe as a base and ran with it... my husband raved and wants it again! I used some onion soup mix with the ground beef and substituted brown gravy mix in place of beef boulion. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This is amazing! I added some stewed tomatoes, we like tomatoes a lot so I would say 2 cans. With the juice from the tomatoes you don't have to add much water. I also added much more bullion and some garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States