Hamburger Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Rather than the beef bullion, I substituted a package of Lipton Garlic and Herb Seasoning. My very picky husband loved it. This dish was very easy to make and we will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I was looking for something quick and easy to do with a pound of hamburger, so gave this a shot. I used a couple leftover half-bags of hash browns (Southern, diced style) and Campbells beef broth in the soup size can. I also added some garlic (from the jar), some cornstarch to the broth, and a bit of Worchestershire. And found that it was still utterly bland! I think I might add some shredded carrots to it for tomorrow and put it in a crust to make pasties. Top it with ketchup and I think it'll be pretty tasty! Sorry, this sounded pretty good and I didn't want to grade it too harshly because I did make a couple of substitutions/additions. On the other hand, the Southern-style hash browns were perfect for this and didn't get mushy. I put them in frozen. Just wondering if the person who used hash browns that turned to mush either used shredded potatoes, or thawed them first?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Excellant! I had a shallot instead of an onion and added a little flour to thicken the sauce. Very good, quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I took another reviewer's suggestion that using hash browns works great...it did not! The whole dish turned into complete mush. I guess I would have to of omitted the water entirely, but I didn't, I just used less. Then, when I used a bit of corn starch to thicken it - it just got mushier and the starch started to clump. I don't consider myself a novice in the kitchen so I don't know what happened to this meal. After an honest attempt to eat it, we threw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I made this with ground turkey instead of beef. The kids loved it. They could not get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Good, quick and easy. Used southern style hash brown potatoes, beef buillon, and whatever veggies I had in the freezer. Kids ate it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Donnelly, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Redfield, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Very nice recipe, my only change was to add a package of dry onion soup mix for the flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
would have given it 5 stars but i made some additions. added worchestershire, garlic from a jar, kernel corn and beef broth in a tetra pak. love it, love it, love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This was definitely a crowd pleaser! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Took this recipe as a base and ran with it... my husband raved and wants it again! I used some onion soup mix with the ground beef and substituted brown gravy mix in place of beef boulion. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States