Hamburger Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I am glad to see this recipe. My dad used to make it from the Army (WW II). Anyway, our original recipe was only hamburger, potatoes and onions w/salt & pepper. I used to wind up adding a ton of salt. But now I like to add a can of flavored tomatoes (like chili-ready or w/green chillies) as well as the garlic & green pepper. I love worchestershire but not in this. Haven't tried beef bouillon but I'm sure it would add depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Newport, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Sorry I did not like this at all. The potatoes were way too mushy. I even cut the simmer time in half to 15 min. then evaporated most of the juice off for 15 more minutes on med-high. The potatoes just took in too much liquid. The whole dish was mushy with no texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corralitos, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I used this as a base recipe and other ingredients as others suggested such as worchestershire, pepper, corn, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Encino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
My mom used to make hamburger hash on occasion, so this was comfort food for me, and a great option when the pantry has run dry. Simple, tasty, and family friendly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilydonovan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I make this quiet often and have been making it for years. It's one of my family's favorites! I usually add a bit of oregano, some garlic, and a splash of worcestershire sauce..sometimes I'll throw in fresh/frozen green beans, corn or carrots (or all three). I have even made this with ground venison. Great recipe and a great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I added carrots and used beef broth instead of beef bullion. Oh, and I seasoned the meat with garlic powder and italian seasoning. Great different way to use ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
There is not nearly enough seasonings. I added salt, pepper, & garlic, but this could just be personal taste. Also threw in green beans & corn. I let mine simmer for about 45 minutes. Great way to use up pantry items!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREN1226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Paired with peas and it was awesome! Didn't use onions though. A little bland so I had to add salt, but it was still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Excellent and simple, but takes much longer than stated to reduce nicely. I use beef broth instead of water/bouillon and simmer for 2-3 hours instead of 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Soddy Daisy, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States