Hamburger Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I doubled this and added a bit of garlic and this recipe came out exactly as I anticipated. After reading through the reviews and looking at the submitted photo's I realize technique and expectation varies widely. Some are adding thickeners to make a gravy and describe it as stew like when I was after something like popping a can of hash. I diced the the potato and onion very small for starters and left some of the fat after browning the beef and onion. I brought it to a low simmer and stirred occasionally, uncovered, until all the liquid was gone and it started to brown a little (took about an hour). I refrigerated it overnight and in the morning made patties and pan fried them in a bit of olive oil until crusty on both sides, but soft in the middle. Absolutely delicious topped with a couple eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This was ok. I ended up adding some cornstarch to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Hi, I just made this for dinner tonight. It was very delicious. I think I added to much water because it was somewhat soupy. Next time I will not add so much water. Thanks for this great tasting recipe. My husband and I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Delicious! Perfect comfort food. I added a chopped garlic clove to the onions and meat (I always sub ground turkey). Used about 8 medium, peeled and chopped red potatoes. Added a can of drained corn at the end. Thickened it up a bit with corn starch. Topped with cheddar cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This turned out very well w/ some tweeks and additions. First, I didn't want mushy potatoes, so I cubed 2 potatoes w/ the skin on and browned them in olive oil. In a separate pan, I browned the meat, onions, some red bell pepper and garlic, along w/ garlic powder & onion powder. When that was done, I drained the fat & added the browned potatoes. then I added about 1/2 pkg. of Lipton onion soup and maybe a third cup of water and cooked a little longer. Delicious! I served corn on the side, but you could add that as well. This did not have a gravy to it, but tasted sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
So easy and so good! Great comfort food for a cold day. We put hot sauce on ours and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angleton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
My mom made this when we were kids. It is so simple to make and really good. I add more spices to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Worth trying when you are short on time and ingredients. I added some adobo. The kids added shredded cheddar at the table. It was good with some canned corn on the side -- dad mixed his in :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Mead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I am glad to see this recipe. My dad used to make it from the Army (WW II). Anyway, our original recipe was only hamburger, potatoes and onions w/salt & pepper. I used to wind up adding a ton of salt. But now I like to add a can of flavored tomatoes (like chili-ready or w/green chillies) as well as the garlic & green pepper. I love worchestershire but not in this. Haven't tried beef bouillon but I'm sure it would add depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Newport, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Sorry I did not like this at all. The potatoes were way too mushy. I even cut the simmer time in half to 15 min. then evaporated most of the juice off for 15 more minutes on med-high. The potatoes just took in too much liquid. The whole dish was mushy with no texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corralitos, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States