Hamburger Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was a really quick, one pan meal. I took some readers advice and added garlic when browning, and some worcestershire sauce after. It wasn't the greatest thing I've eaten, kind of plain. I would've only given it 3 stars, but my husband liked it and my 3 year old (who always pushes away her dinner) loved it. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
My family liked this. I shredded the potatoes and added shredded carrots. Also added garlic, worcestershire, and a little basil. I used less water to brown the potatoes more. It turned out great. *update* I've cooked this without any added water, plus I rolled the shredded potatoes in a towel before adding it to the pan to dry them a bit. We liked the texture much better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
To me, it was bland. I don't know if my bouillon is old, or what, though when I make this again, I will crisp up the potatoes first, and perhaps add a ranch flavor to it? I added about a 1/4 cup of water, let it evaporate, thickened it, and added corn, fresh garlic and cheddar cheese, salt & pepper to wake it up. Will be tweaking this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I doubled this and added a bit of garlic and this recipe came out exactly as I anticipated. After reading through the reviews and looking at the submitted photo's I realize technique and expectation varies widely. Some are adding thickeners to make a gravy and describe it as stew like when I was after something like popping a can of hash. I diced the the potato and onion very small for starters and left some of the fat after browning the beef and onion. I brought it to a low simmer and stirred occasionally, uncovered, until all the liquid was gone and it started to brown a little (took about an hour). I refrigerated it overnight and in the morning made patties and pan fried them in a bit of olive oil until crusty on both sides, but soft in the middle. Absolutely delicious topped with a couple eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This was ok. I ended up adding some cornstarch to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Hi, I just made this for dinner tonight. It was very delicious. I think I added to much water because it was somewhat soupy. Next time I will not add so much water. Thanks for this great tasting recipe. My husband and I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Delicious! Perfect comfort food. I added a chopped garlic clove to the onions and meat (I always sub ground turkey). Used about 8 medium, peeled and chopped red potatoes. Added a can of drained corn at the end. Thickened it up a bit with corn starch. Topped with cheddar cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This turned out very well w/ some tweeks and additions. First, I didn't want mushy potatoes, so I cubed 2 potatoes w/ the skin on and browned them in olive oil. In a separate pan, I browned the meat, onions, some red bell pepper and garlic, along w/ garlic powder & onion powder. When that was done, I drained the fat & added the browned potatoes. then I added about 1/2 pkg. of Lipton onion soup and maybe a third cup of water and cooked a little longer. Delicious! I served corn on the side, but you could add that as well. This did not have a gravy to it, but tasted sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
So easy and so good! Great comfort food for a cold day. We put hot sauce on ours and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angleton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
My mom made this when we were kids. It is so simple to make and really good. I add more spices to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States