Hamburger Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
This was good comfort food, nothing fancy but good. I made a few changes: I added a little garlic powder to the hamburger as it was browning, after hamburger browned-I added the potatoes and browned them as well. Color was better. Then I added some worchestershire sauce to the beef broth and cooked uncovered until the broth almost evaporated. Yu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Marys, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
With a few adjustments to meet family needs this recipe is a keeper. What I added: liquid beef stock, diced carrots and celery, basil, parsley, garlic powder, salt & pepper and Worcestershire sauce. I also used flour to thicken it so it had a nice, rich gravy. The kids ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This has become a family favorite. I didn't think it could get much easier, but I was in a hurry last night and substituted a pound of frozen hashbrowns for the potatoes and it worked just fine. I also add worcestershire sauce as well as garlic and onion. We will also top it with cheese sometimes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I used other reveiwers advice and I added garlic salt, worchestershire sauce, and cornstarch at the end. I also used cavender's spice--I put cavender's spice on everything. In the end, I put salsa and cheese on top. The salsa really brings out the flavor, it almost makes it takes like some imaginary authentic mexican dish. I will be keeping this one for the next time that I'm low in stock in the pantry. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarakyong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
we really liked this...i did add celery salt, garlic salt, garlic, and worcestershire sauce to it and i bet around 1/3-1/2 cup of corn starch to thicken it up..it was very good...will make again when i need a quick dinner...thanks for sharing.. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil'MadSavy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This was great with leftover taco meat - seasoned it right up! We topped it with a little cheese, sour cream, salsa and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
I needed something real fast to cook for dinner. I had potatoes and ground meat, but couldn't think of how to put them together. Your recipe helped me in a short amount of time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I thought this was great! It's like an easy, flavorful stew. I added some garlic salt and seasoned salt & pepper and a can of cream corn & some leftover carrots. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
I only used one boullion cube and added a clove of fresh garlic and it was really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This turned out very well w/ some tweeks and additions. First, I didn't want mushy potatoes, so I cubed 2 potatoes w/ the skin on and browned them in olive oil. In a separate pan, I browned the meat, onions, some red bell pepper and garlic, along w/ garlic powder & onion powder. When that was done, I drained the fat & added the browned potatoes. then I added about 1/2 pkg. of Lipton onion soup and maybe a third cup of water and cooked a little longer. Delicious! I served corn on the side, but you could add that as well. This did not have a gravy to it, but tasted sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States