Hamburger Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
This was good comfort food, nothing fancy but good. I made a few changes: I added a little garlic powder to the hamburger as it was browning, after hamburger browned-I added the potatoes and browned them as well. Color was better. Then I added some worchestershire sauce to the beef broth and cooked uncovered until the broth almost evaporated. Yu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Marys, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
With a few adjustments to meet family needs this recipe is a keeper. What I added: liquid beef stock, diced carrots and celery, basil, parsley, garlic powder, salt & pepper and Worcestershire sauce. I also used flour to thicken it so it had a nice, rich gravy. The kids ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This has become a family favorite. I didn't think it could get much easier, but I was in a hurry last night and substituted a pound of frozen hashbrowns for the potatoes and it worked just fine. I also add worcestershire sauce as well as garlic and onion. We will also top it with cheese sometimes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I used other reveiwers advice and I added garlic salt, worchestershire sauce, and cornstarch at the end. I also used cavender's spice--I put cavender's spice on everything. In the end, I put salsa and cheese on top. The salsa really brings out the flavor, it almost makes it takes like some imaginary authentic mexican dish. I will be keeping this one for the next time that I'm low in stock in the pantry. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarakyong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
we really liked this...i did add celery salt, garlic salt, garlic, and worcestershire sauce to it and i bet around 1/3-1/2 cup of corn starch to thicken it up..it was very good...will make again when i need a quick dinner...thanks for sharing.. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil'MadSavy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This was great with leftover taco meat - seasoned it right up! We topped it with a little cheese, sour cream, salsa and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
I needed something real fast to cook for dinner. I had potatoes and ground meat, but couldn't think of how to put them together. Your recipe helped me in a short amount of time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I thought this was great! It's like an easy, flavorful stew. I added some garlic salt and seasoned salt & pepper and a can of cream corn & some leftover carrots. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
I only used one boullion cube and added a clove of fresh garlic and it was really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This turned out very well w/ some tweeks and additions. First, I didn't want mushy potatoes, so I cubed 2 potatoes w/ the skin on and browned them in olive oil. In a separate pan, I browned the meat, onions, some red bell pepper and garlic, along w/ garlic powder & onion powder. When that was done, I drained the fat & added the browned potatoes. then I added about 1/2 pkg. of Lipton onion soup and maybe a third cup of water and cooked a little longer. Delicious! I served corn on the side, but you could add that as well. This did not have a gravy to it, but tasted sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States