Hamburger Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was very bland. I tried some of the suggestions from other reviewers and it became edible but not great. Will not try again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Nice quick dinner. I did however make some changes based on a previous review which I think really enhanced the flavor. First, I add do not use MSG, so I substituted the bouillon and water for homemade beef stock (Yum!). I also added chopped carrots, celery and garlic to get some veggys into the meal. And for additional flavor I added fresh basil, parsley, salt and pepper. I also added about 1/4 c. flour to the veggys, sauteed then in the pan for a bit and the added the broth so that it would thicken. The result was wonderful and the original recipe was a nice springboard. My husband and son liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
One word: Boring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This is a very tasty stew-like meal for a chilly fall day. Instead of hamburger I cubed some steak. I also added carrots and mushrooms and some celery. It seemed very soupy so I just added some cornstarch and it turned out thick and hearty. I took some of the suggestions from some other reviews and added garlic powder as well. I served it up with some warm rolls and my husband was a happy man! Very easy to make - I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
this recipe was a good starting idea. i made a few modifications. i carmelized 1 small onion chopped and 2 cloves garlic in 1 tbsp olive oil and 1 tbsp butter added the ground beef, cooked until browned, drained off fat. added 3 potatoes chopped into 1 inch cubes, 2 carrots sliced, 1 bay leaf, 3 cups water and 1 tbsp beef stock base and black pepper, parsley, oregano, cayanne to taste. 30 minutes to simmer, 10 to cool and served it with sour dough bread. my kids loved this, the pan was empty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erika H.
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
So Simple and Good. I added 3 carrots. Other than that I made it exactly to the original recipe and the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This was just an o.k. meal for meal. It was pretty bland. I think I made the potatoes too small, and the whole thing turned mushy. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tidesox28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
With a few adjustments to meet family needs this recipe is a keeper. What I added: liquid beef stock, diced carrots and celery, basil, parsley, garlic powder, salt & pepper and Worcestershire sauce. I also used flour to thicken it so it had a nice, rich gravy. The kids ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This was a very good recipe, but not 5 star. I felt like the recipe on its own was a bit bland, and needed some jazzing up, as others noted. One key step is the browning of the potatotes. Need to add the potatoes to the ground beef when it is nearly browned, to give the potatoes the crispness and color of hash. I also added some seasonings and garlic as noted by others and used a can of beef broth. My 12 year old daughter absolutely loved it...thanked me after the first bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This was delicious! My grandmother used to make this dish when I was a kid and it was my favorite. It's total comfort food. Not fancy, not spicy, just perfect for the kids. Easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States