Hamburger Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Erika H.
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
So Simple and Good. I added 3 carrots. Other than that I made it exactly to the original recipe and the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This was just an o.k. meal for meal. It was pretty bland. I think I made the potatoes too small, and the whole thing turned mushy. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tidesox28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
With a few adjustments to meet family needs this recipe is a keeper. What I added: liquid beef stock, diced carrots and celery, basil, parsley, garlic powder, salt & pepper and Worcestershire sauce. I also used flour to thicken it so it had a nice, rich gravy. The kids ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This was a very good recipe, but not 5 star. I felt like the recipe on its own was a bit bland, and needed some jazzing up, as others noted. One key step is the browning of the potatotes. Need to add the potatoes to the ground beef when it is nearly browned, to give the potatoes the crispness and color of hash. I also added some seasonings and garlic as noted by others and used a can of beef broth. My 12 year old daughter absolutely loved it...thanked me after the first bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This was delicious! My grandmother used to make this dish when I was a kid and it was my favorite. It's total comfort food. Not fancy, not spicy, just perfect for the kids. Easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Rather than the beef bullion, I substituted a package of Lipton Garlic and Herb Seasoning. My very picky husband loved it. This dish was very easy to make and we will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I was looking for something quick and easy to do with a pound of hamburger, so gave this a shot. I used a couple leftover half-bags of hash browns (Southern, diced style) and Campbells beef broth in the soup size can. I also added some garlic (from the jar), some cornstarch to the broth, and a bit of Worchestershire. And found that it was still utterly bland! I think I might add some shredded carrots to it for tomorrow and put it in a crust to make pasties. Top it with ketchup and I think it'll be pretty tasty! Sorry, this sounded pretty good and I didn't want to grade it too harshly because I did make a couple of substitutions/additions. On the other hand, the Southern-style hash browns were perfect for this and didn't get mushy. I put them in frozen. Just wondering if the person who used hash browns that turned to mush either used shredded potatoes, or thawed them first?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Excellant! I had a shallot instead of an onion and added a little flour to thicken the sauce. Very good, quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I took another reviewer's suggestion that using hash browns works great...it did not! The whole dish turned into complete mush. I guess I would have to of omitted the water entirely, but I didn't, I just used less. Then, when I used a bit of corn starch to thicken it - it just got mushier and the starch started to clump. I don't consider myself a novice in the kitchen so I don't know what happened to this meal. After an honest attempt to eat it, we threw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I made this with ground turkey instead of beef. The kids loved it. They could not get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States