Hamburger Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This was a good base recipe, I added worchestershire sauce, garlic powder, garlic salt and some Mrs. Dash to the meat as I cooked it. I used beef paste instead of bouillon. I also let it cook until the potatoes started to brown and get crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE2EAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Really good. Deserves a 5 star because it is so simple and inexpensive. I added celery, extra onion, extra garlic, 2 bay leaves, etc. Followed suggestions from others. Family loved it, and that's all that matters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This was pretty good. My husband loved it, and my 5 yr old ate some too (she's picky). I liked it, the potatoes and carrots came out wonderfully (I'll admit I did pre-cook them first, so they'd be softer), and although the beef had a good flavor, I think I needed better ground beef. I may try this next time with stew meat instead. I also added a little onion powder, and celery salt. Very easy, and overall tasted great, for as simple as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This is a good kid friendly recipe especially on those days when you are short on time and ingredients. It's not going to knock your socks off but it is a better option than fast food. You will need to add spices and veggies to suit your individual taste. Not a bad meal for the amount of effort. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cradleco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This was a yummy, quick meal. I'd use a Bay Leaf as well to give it more of Mom's Old-Tyme Beef Stew Hash taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Made this last night becase I had some ground beef and potatoes that needed to be used up. Not a bad, quick, filling meal. I cooked it as it and added some worcestershire, garlic powder, salt and pepper and only used on boullion cube. Served with a side of sauted zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
As everyone else said, this is a good starter. I added: garlic (fresh), worcestershire sauce, 1 Tb or so of a vegie spice blend, 1-2 tsp of cumin or so and only added water little by little as it evaporated, thus avoiding the "soup" that so many complained about! As a last minute, "I have nothing in my kitchen" reciped I would repeat it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Just what I was looking for. I did an ingredients search for potatoes and ground beef and found this simple recipe. I used beef broth instead of bouillon. After the potatoes were soft, I stirred about 2 T. flour into 1/4 c. milk and then stirred it into the broth to make a thicker gravy. Like another reviewer said, it's nothing fancy but it was simple, fast, and called for only a few ingredients which I already had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This was a great and quick meal! It wasn't over the top in taste for me, but I liked it. My pickiest of eater, my 2yr old cleaned his bowl! I added the Worcestershire sauce, fresh minced garlic and cheese as recommended. On top of that I chopped up some carrots and celery I had in the fridge and tossed that in for color and flavor. My heart was warmed by watching my whole family enjoy the meal! I made a big pot of the hash and when I returned home from work the next morning, there was only an 8oz bowl of it left in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m3chn0w

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
this recipe was yery yummy but i had to doctor it up a bit. first i didnt have any beef bouillon so i substituted it with beef broth and about 2 cups of water. i also added garlic powder, chili powder, paprika, and salt and pepper. i waited and waited for almost an hour for the juices to go down but it didnt happen so i just served this meal as a soup with garlic bread it was a hit at my table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States