Hamburger Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I spent a long time looking for this recipe. It is a simple recipe, and mother used to make it often. I have become a gourmet cook - trouble is, fancy look-alikes of this recipe do not turn out well in my opinion. When you start adding things to this, you mess with its great, simple comfort food taste. This is an excellent old fashioned recipe that is delicious just as it is, and is unbelievably easy to make. I used liquid beef broth for this (make sure beef is the first ingredient on the label, ok? or it won't work.) I am so thankful to you Rhonda M. for this! It takes me back in time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
My best friend's mom made this for dinner atleast three nights a week when we were growing up. I choose to make this because I wasn't sure what to do with my pound of ground beef and making this reminded me of her mom! I didn't really care for the bouillon, she never used it, always just salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was quite good, I only added 3 crushed cloves of garlic, fresh ground pepper, and kosher salt, but otherwise left as is. Nice go to meal when u r using up produce or have a little of this and that left in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by braveleesy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Easy, fast and good! I added 1/2 cup of fresh cut carrots, Worcestershire sauce, garlic salt, and 1 can green beans. I cooked as directed and it came out great! We all had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I love this meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Homemade Hamburger Helper! I used leftover potatoes from a roast, chopped into small cubes. I also used beef broth and some steak seasoning instead of the bouillon and water. Threw in carrots and some chopped collard greens for extra veggies and it was really good! My kids were skeptical but once they took a bite, they were happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
My mother has been making this for over 30+ years and we love it it is a versatile recipe you can use gravy or beef broth aue jue or anything you can think of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was a really quick, one pan meal. I took some readers advice and added garlic when browning, and some worcestershire sauce after. It wasn't the greatest thing I've eaten, kind of plain. I would've only given it 3 stars, but my husband liked it and my 3 year old (who always pushes away her dinner) loved it. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
My family liked this. I shredded the potatoes and added shredded carrots. Also added garlic, worcestershire, and a little basil. I used less water to brown the potatoes more. It turned out great. *update* I've cooked this without any added water, plus I rolled the shredded potatoes in a towel before adding it to the pan to dry them a bit. We liked the texture much better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
To me, it was bland. I don't know if my bouillon is old, or what, though when I make this again, I will crisp up the potatoes first, and perhaps add a ranch flavor to it? I added about a 1/4 cup of water, let it evaporate, thickened it, and added corn, fresh garlic and cheddar cheese, salt & pepper to wake it up. Will be tweaking this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States