Hamburger Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
it was a good idea, but it really was boring. I was able to use up the hamburger and potatoes I had lying around the kitchen and that was the best part of the recipe. Needed more spice and imagination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I just finished having this for dinner, need I say it's All Gone. I read some of the reviews so, I decided to take care of the hash browns not being Cooked enough. So while my oven was heating up to 350 I placed the prepared pan with the hash brown mixture in it And left it in the Oven while cooking the hamburger mixture. I did add double the seasoning and added salt. It turned out Perfect ! I will be fixing this regularly. I'm going to share with my daughter in law that doesn't cook & my 2 single brothers. It's Easy but good and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debora C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I decided to make this because i was running out of things in the fridge... It came out AMAZING... but i winged it and substituted some things... WHAT I DID: COOKED @ 375 instead of 350 (based off of previous comments) and placed oiled/seasoned hash browns in oven after it was preheated and cooked them ALONE while i cooked the beef and did all the other steps... (about 20-25 mins, depending on how fast you work). While cooking beef i substituted onion powder for actual onions, cut into TINY little pieces (yellow onion) and also added salt and a tad bit of WORCHESTIRE sauce... I also substituted the gravy mix with ACTUAL gravy, because i didnt have the dry stuff.. so just used some beef broth (1 cup), flour, WORCHESTIRE (just a tad, like 1-2 tsp) and butter was my mixture i poured into beef after draining. after that just made it as usual, except I also put a couple tidbits of butter on top of mixture to melt into it and i cooked 20 MINUTES @ 375 then another 5 mins to melt remaining cheese... MMMMMM DELICIOUSSS... MAKE IT YOUR OWN :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This recipe turned out really well using dried browns that you toss in salted boiling water. No extra cooking like the other comments. It went really well with seasoned green beans and I bet throwing in sauteed mushrooms would be good in the dish. Black or pinto beans and olives and taco seasoning would be a good version as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Listerud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This was... "just okay". It took a lot of cheese added in to even get my husband to try it. He called this a "she loves me not dinner".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This was very bland the first time I reviewed it, even for my simple palate. I've tweaked the recipe, now giving it 4 stars. First, I used pre-cooked hash brown patties which eliminates the flavorless results when baking raw hash browns. No oil, & I added 1,5 oz. of real bacon bits to the hash browns mixture, which I heated for 10 minutes before adding the ground beef mixture. Doing that helped bring it to temp without overcooking the hamburger & gravy. I added a teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce & a tablespoon of minced onions (no onion powder) to the hamburger after it was done. I only had a 2 cup dry brown gravy packet, so I poked a few holes in the hash browns & added 1/4 cup or so to use some of the extra. Much more flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernMaster

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I'm not sure why this received 4 stars. This was very bland even after I added more black pepper and added salt. My husband only ate it after drenching it with A1 steaksauce and ketchup. I also added seasoning salt after it was cooked and that help start giving it flavor. It was too dry and seemed to be missing a creamy component like a cream of mushroom soup. I would not make this again unless I totally change the recipe. Oh and by the way I DID take the advice of others and cook for 30 minutes rather than 15 because the potatoes would not be cooked enough. Overall not a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Great easy base recipe, used melted butter in hashbrowns instead of oil. The kids loved it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Very good! However at the top (im using the app) it says cook time 30m and in the directions it says 15m. Go by the 30m!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Everyone but one of my children loved this. I felt it was a little bland, will deffinately spice it up next time. And cook the potatoes a bit before adding everything else to it. They did not seem quite done to me. Over all a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States