Hamburger Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Very good..... I took some other reviewers advice and cooked the hash browns first and used more seasoning. I also replaced the brown gravy mix with country gravy. I thought it would go better with the cheddar cheese. 2 thumbs up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
yah cooking for 15 min its takes that long in oil in a skillet 30min sounds better other than that awesome dish i used a lot more seasoning than what it said
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nathan Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Easy and quick with on-hand ingredients, but just okay as a meal. Maybe add veggies?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This recipe was a little bland. I used 6 cups frozen hashbrowns, thawed 4 tbs veggie oil 1/4 cup fresh ground pepper Mixed per recipe 1 1/2 lb ground beef 1/2 tsp garlic powder 1/2 tsp onion powder 1/2 cup finely chopped onions 1/2 cup finely chopped pickles 1 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese 1 cup water 1 pack brown gravy mix Preheat oven to 370. Put pan with hashbrown mix into oven on center shelf while preparing beef mix Add 1/2 tsp onion powder and 1/2 tsp garlic powder to beef and then brown and drain beef Add 1 cup water and brown gravy mix. Cook on low until water boils out. Fold in chopped onion, pickles 3/4 cup cheese Remove 9"x9" pan with hashbrown mix from oven. Put hamburger mix on top of hashbrown mix. Bake at 370 on center shelf for 20 minutes. Remove and top with 3/4 cup mozzarella cheese. Bake at 370 on center shelf for an additional 5 minutes. I used a glass 9x9 in electric oven. Metal pan may require more/less cook times. Once finished cooking and topped with ketchup it tasted like a cheeseburger casserole with substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carl Hunt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
it was a good idea, but it really was boring. I was able to use up the hamburger and potatoes I had lying around the kitchen and that was the best part of the recipe. Needed more spice and imagination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I just finished having this for dinner, need I say it's All Gone. I read some of the reviews so, I decided to take care of the hash browns not being Cooked enough. So while my oven was heating up to 350 I placed the prepared pan with the hash brown mixture in it And left it in the Oven while cooking the hamburger mixture. I did add double the seasoning and added salt. It turned out Perfect ! I will be fixing this regularly. I'm going to share with my daughter in law that doesn't cook & my 2 single brothers. It's Easy but good and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debora C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I decided to make this because i was running out of things in the fridge... It came out AMAZING... but i winged it and substituted some things... WHAT I DID: COOKED @ 375 instead of 350 (based off of previous comments) and placed oiled/seasoned hash browns in oven after it was preheated and cooked them ALONE while i cooked the beef and did all the other steps... (about 20-25 mins, depending on how fast you work). While cooking beef i substituted onion powder for actual onions, cut into TINY little pieces (yellow onion) and also added salt and a tad bit of WORCHESTIRE sauce... I also substituted the gravy mix with ACTUAL gravy, because i didnt have the dry stuff.. so just used some beef broth (1 cup), flour, WORCHESTIRE (just a tad, like 1-2 tsp) and butter was my mixture i poured into beef after draining. after that just made it as usual, except I also put a couple tidbits of butter on top of mixture to melt into it and i cooked 20 MINUTES @ 375 then another 5 mins to melt remaining cheese... MMMMMM DELICIOUSSS... MAKE IT YOUR OWN :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This recipe turned out really well using dried browns that you toss in salted boiling water. No extra cooking like the other comments. It went really well with seasoned green beans and I bet throwing in sauteed mushrooms would be good in the dish. Black or pinto beans and olives and taco seasoning would be a good version as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Listerud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This was... "just okay". It took a lot of cheese added in to even get my husband to try it. He called this a "she loves me not dinner".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This was very bland the first time I reviewed it, even for my simple palate. I've tweaked the recipe, now giving it 4 stars. First, I used pre-cooked hash brown patties which eliminates the flavorless results when baking raw hash browns. No oil, & I added 1.5 oz. of real bacon bits to the ground beef mixture. I also crumbled the hash browns & microwaved them in a bowl. Doing that helped bring it to temp without overcooking the hamburger & gravy. I added a teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce & a tablespoon of minced onions (no onion powder) to the hamburger after it was done. I only had a 2 cup dry brown gravy packet, so I poked a few holes in the hash browns & added 1/4 cup or so to use some of the extra. Much more flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernMaster

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States